Grilled Tri-tip Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I followed the advice of some other reviews and marinated the roast for about 6 hours in olive oil, red wine, salt, pepper, and minced garlic. Didn't have the option of using a grill so I did it in the oven for 45 minutes at 425, then let it sit under foil for another 10 and it came out a nice med-rare. Only thing I would do differently next time is to sear it in a pan before cooking to give it that nice char on the outside. Maybe using a grill would have taken care of that. Overall pretty tasty, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very tasty. Surprisingly, my children actually ate this meat, and they aren't very fond of meat at all. As suggested by others, I marinated the meat overnight in 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar, and 1 Tbsp soy sauce. Then, I rubbed the entire powder mixture on the meat. I didn't have garlic powder, so I used 3 teaspoons of garlic salt, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon pepper. I baked this at 350 for 1 hr 30 min. It was juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Like other reviewers, this was my first time grilling a roast, and I approached it with apprehension. I took the advice of other reviewers and marinated the roast (I punctured it several times to allow the marinade to penetrate faster) for 4 hours in a marinade of olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt & pepper and garlic, then seared it on the stove prior to putting it on the grill. I did the indirect heat method that other reviewers mentioned and since I didn't have wood chips, I poured the marinade over the rocks to add a little extra "smoky" flavor. I cooked it for 2 hours and it came out a perfect medium rare! The flavor was awesome!! My sons that usually have to put A1 sauce on all steaks ate it plain and came back for 3rds!! The meat was very tender and juicy with a fantastic flavor. I highly recommend this with the changes listed/suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jumpy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Pretty good. I mixed the spices in olive oil along with a couple dashes of balsamic vinegar and coated the roast before searing all sides in a skillet. Then I roasted it in a covered pyrex dish at 325 degrees (in the oven; the grill still intimidates me). It was 1.15 lb. to begin with and came out medium well with plenty of juices at just under 2 hours. The flavor and texture were both better than I expected. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I have used this recipe several times since I first came across it and it is definitely a keeper. I did what another reviewer suggested and made it into a marinade using Olive Oil, soy sauce and Red wine vinegar. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I added red wine and olive oil and bake the Tri tip for 30 to 40 mins at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Thank for all the information in this section. I Grilled a Tri Tip for the first time today, and it looks awesome. I followed the "indirect heat" method, whereby I put the charcoals on one side of the grill and put the roast on the other side (actually, I had three tri tips). I also found an old pan and put it at the botton to use as a drip pan. I added about a cup of water to the pan to keep the drippings from drying out. I only cooked my roasts for 3.5 hours because I didn't want it to become too dried-out. As for the drippings, not much dripped down into the pan. However, after I let the roasts sit for about an hour, a ton of juice came out. I put that into a small 1 quart pot, added some soy sauce, 1/4 cup red wine, 1 teaspoon of minced garlic, and some salt... and heated it up and let it boil for a few minutes, to make the Au Ju sauce. After a little "tinkering", I got the perfect taste, but the sauce was a little bit lumpy. Since I didn't have any cheesecloth, I came up with a great idea to use a coffee filter to strain the Au Ju sauce. So I just put the filter into the filter cup, like I was making a single cup of coffee, and poured the sauce through. It took a while to get it all done, but the coffee filter got rid of all those specks of meat and fat, as well as the big chunks of garlic that was left over... and the end result was AWESOME. My Au Ju sauce was very clear, with a reddish hue to it. It looked like it was made in a restaurant, and the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
We love tri-tip. 4-6 hours is way too long. Sear at a high heat then move to indirect heat. Depending on the size 1- 1 1/2 hours is plenty. Take of grill @ 130 deg. for med-rare. let stand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was quite good. I combined some advice of others and marinated the meat for about 8 hours in 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar, and 1 Tbsp soy sauce. My roast was only about 2 pounds, so I made the same amount of seasoning and rubbed 1/2 on the meat and then mixed the rest with the marinade. I baked this at 350 for 55 minutes rather than grilling it. It was juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
FIRST TIME COOKING THE TRI TIP ROAST ON THE GRILL. I FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS WITH ONLY ONE ADJUSTMENT. INSTEAD OF GARLIC POWER, I USED MINCED GARLIC. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS AS DIRECTED, AND IT WAS DELIOUS !! MAKE SURE YOU WATCH IT TO NOT OVER COOK. WE LIKE OURS MED-RARE, AND IT ACTUALLY COOKED IN ABOUT 50 TO 55 MINUTES. I THINK ANY LONGER IT WOULD HAVE BEEN TO DRY. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States