Grilled Tequila-Lime Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a great beginner recipe, BUT... Instead of using GARLIC SALT, use fresh garlic. There is enough salt in the shrimp itself. If you need more salt, then add a few twists of the sea salt grinder -to taste (TT). Also, add a hand full of fresh chopped cilantro and skip the cumin (cumin is over used in a lot of mexican dishes). Cilantro will give a great flavor to the dish and merries well with the lime and tequila. As far as adding more heat...GO FOR IT!!! I would use fresh serreno or habanera peppers for the connoisseur of hot, but if you like mild heat use the old standards -jalapeño or cayenne (fresh). If using that powdered cayenne- sprinkle on after grilling as a garnish. Remember, a recipe is only a guide. You can add and subtract from it as much as you want, BUT the intended flavors will change so ...remember to TASTE IT before marinating! Always remember...FRESH is the key ingredient to any marinade! One last tid bit... yes it is true that the acid will cook meat and fish if left for a period of time (especially fish), but shellfish can stand a little longer. At the most, 1 hour will suffice for this recipe. Any longer, the shrimp will start to take on an unpleasant bitter taste - dont forget to remove any seeds from the lime as this will hasten the bitterness. Hey 99burners... You over cooked the shrimp! That is why they came out rubbery! 3-4 minutes per side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I will never know how these tasted, people devoured them at a recent b-day party. I did add shallots and fresh garlic and marinated for 4 hours prior to putting on the grill and brushed with the left over marninade. Be careful when doing this as the olive oil and tequila will cause flare ups on the grill. I made enough for 50 people (12 lbs) and served on a cold plate sitting over ice. I never got to have any, they were a hit at the party. You know something is good when there is none left. We will definately be making again only next time just for us!! I'll post pictures soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Yummy!! Have made this a few times as written. Always very good. Have found adding pinch of Cayenne improves it for me. The mild undercurrent of hot goes nicely with the tequila and other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millwood, New York, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This is an easy and excellent appie. I did not grill the shrimp, rather fried them for a few minutes in olive oil and served with toothpicks. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I followed this recipe fairly closely... although as I finished I added about 2 tsp of chili powder for extra flavor. The final dish was OK -- but seemed to be a little less exciting than I was hoping for... I only marinaded for about an hour in the fridge, as I believe the citrus cooks the shrimp slightly. I may make this again, but I would be sure to also add cayenne pepper and more black pepper for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bode'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was great. Marinade didn't overpower the shrimp, but still added a nice flavor. Great for a light summer bbq, chips and guacamole for an appetiser and a nice margarita on the side to compliment. I'll be making this again and suspect it will be a frequent meal in the hot summer Texas heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Delicious!!! We added them to pasta and we ate until our pants had to be unbuttoned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlie2890

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Nice flavor, but would have never known the shrimp was marinated with tequila. Therefore, I'd say make the marinade without the tequila and save it for a margarita to go with the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
The marinade was not enough for a pound of shrimp. I doubled it and even then it was almost not enough. Marinated for one hour because others had suggested it but it was not enough time as the shrimp did not take on any flavor. I would maybe try this again but would marinate for at least 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was delish. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States