Grilled Tequila-Lime Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Not a lot of flavor. Will try again with LOTS more spices/herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
pretty bland im no grill master but tasted like lime juice and shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was alright. You can't marinate it for very long at all or the shrimp will "cook" in the lime/tequila, so those flavors were very subtle. That's OK, it's shrimp & tequila. How can that be bad?:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Yummy!! Have made this a few times as written. Always very good. Have found adding pinch of Cayenne improves it for me. The mild undercurrent of hot goes nicely with the tequila and other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millwood, New York, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a great beginner recipe, BUT... Instead of using GARLIC SALT, use fresh garlic. There is enough salt in the shrimp itself. If you need more salt, then add a few twists of the sea salt grinder -to taste (TT). Also, add a hand full of fresh chopped cilantro and skip the cumin (cumin is over used in a lot of mexican dishes). Cilantro will give a great flavor to the dish and merries well with the lime and tequila. As far as adding more heat...GO FOR IT!!! I would use fresh serreno or habanera peppers for the connoisseur of hot, but if you like mild heat use the old standards -jalapeño or cayenne (fresh). If using that powdered cayenne- sprinkle on after grilling as a garnish. Remember, a recipe is only a guide. You can add and subtract from it as much as you want, BUT the intended flavors will change so ...remember to TASTE IT before marinating! Always remember...FRESH is the key ingredient to any marinade! One last tid bit... yes it is true that the acid will cook meat and fish if left for a period of time (especially fish), but shellfish can stand a little longer. At the most, 1 hour will suffice for this recipe. Any longer, the shrimp will start to take on an unpleasant bitter taste - dont forget to remove any seeds from the lime as this will hasten the bitterness. Hey 99burners... You over cooked the shrimp! That is why they came out rubbery! 3-4 minutes per side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was delish. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I made this recipe to take to a bbq. I never got any at the party they were gone immediately. Thank goodness I ate one before putting the plate out. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Super easy and a big hot, I don't care for spicy hot, but I think that next time I will add a pich of Cayenne pepper to this.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I would marinate longer next time. I was running short on time so only marinated about 20 minutes. Grumpy still enjoyed it - so it can't be a horrible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was great. Marinade didn't overpower the shrimp, but still added a nice flavor. Great for a light summer bbq, chips and guacamole for an appetiser and a nice margarita on the side to compliment. I'll be making this again and suspect it will be a frequent meal in the hot summer Texas heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States