Grilled Tamarind and Orange Glazed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Phenomenal. Made my own tamarind paste since I had the fruit on hand. Wasn't difficult at all. Didn't have an orange, so I used about 1/4 more of OJ than called for, plus the OJ was 50% reduced sugar . Didn't miss the zest, and used about 10 packs of Splenda in place of sugar. The glaze reduced nicely, and the entire family loved it! I think this is one of the best chicken recipes we have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Yum! This was very tasty and also worth noting it looks great. Definitely worth serving to guests. I had bought Tamarind puree to use in a Pad Thai recipe and wanted another recipe to utilise it more often. I wasn't sure what herbs de provence was, I guess we don't have that round here so I looked up what herbs are normally in that mix and saw it included basil and thyme which I did have. I used a tablespoon each and found the thyme a bit strong so I'll adjust the herbs next time. We served with salad but might try on kebabs also. A really great recipe I'm pleased to have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Easy and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
OMG! We made this for our guests over the weekend and they referred to it as "divine". I have to agree. We make a lot of chicken recipes and this has to be our absolute favorite. If you live in an area where you can't find tamarind glaze...you can obtain it on Amazon, which is what WE did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Wow, this is an incredibly easy & taste dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very yummy. A little time consuming for the sauce, but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Definitely one I will make again. I try to follow a recipe exactly the first time, but I couldn't find tamarind paste. I substituted tamarind chutney. I did not have a fresh orange, so used good-quality Orange juice and omitted the zest. I also did not have the optional chili garlic sauce. This sauce would also be great on pork. I pounded the chicken breast to 3/4" thickness, then scored both sides and marinated for 45 minutes. After grilling, we let the meat rest for about five minutes, and then sliced to 1/4" thickness and topped with part of the sauce, serving the remainder of the sauce at the table. Definitely nice enough for guests.I served it with broccoli and white rice, and a cucumber tomato onion salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Good tasting but entirely too much trouble for end result. I followed recipe to the letter as I had all ingredients. Started to panic after 30 min b/c sauce wasn't reducing to glaze consistency. It was closer to an hour when it looked like it should. I said it tasted good, but the chicken was too sweet for my taste. For those who do like sweet poultry, it would be nice if you could make a bigger batch of glaze and save it for 2-3 grills. Perhaps then, the recipe might be worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This recipe is so tasty! Both my husband and I loved it. I served the chicken (which I marinated for 2 hours) over basmati rice and poured a little of the reserved marinade over the whole thing. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaC108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is the best chicken I have ever made. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States