Grilled Tamarind and Orange Glazed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Wow, this is an incredibly easy & taste dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Easy and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
OMG! We made this for our guests over the weekend and they referred to it as "divine". I have to agree. We make a lot of chicken recipes and this has to be our absolute favorite. If you live in an area where you can't find tamarind glaze...you can obtain it on Amazon, which is what WE did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Yum! This was very tasty and also worth noting it looks great. Definitely worth serving to guests. I had bought Tamarind puree to use in a Pad Thai recipe and wanted another recipe to utilise it more often. I wasn't sure what herbs de provence was, I guess we don't have that round here so I looked up what herbs are normally in that mix and saw it included basil and thyme which I did have. I used a tablespoon each and found the thyme a bit strong so I'll adjust the herbs next time. We served with salad but might try on kebabs also. A really great recipe I'm pleased to have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Phenomenal. Made my own tamarind paste since I had the fruit on hand. Wasn't difficult at all. Didn't have an orange, so I used about 1/4 more of OJ than called for, plus the OJ was 50% reduced sugar . Didn't miss the zest, and used about 10 packs of Splenda in place of sugar. The glaze reduced nicely, and the entire family loved it! I think this is one of the best chicken recipes we have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
sure would like to try this looks like i would like it.what can i sub for tamarind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I think that this recipe is outstanding. Do you think that it would work just doing it in the oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Definitely one I will make again. I try to follow a recipe exactly the first time, but I couldn't find tamarind paste. I substituted tamarind chutney. I did not have a fresh orange, so used good-quality Orange juice and omitted the zest. I also did not have the optional chili garlic sauce. This sauce would also be great on pork. I pounded the chicken breast to 3/4" thickness, then scored both sides and marinated for 45 minutes. After grilling, we let the meat rest for about five minutes, and then sliced to 1/4" thickness and topped with part of the sauce, serving the remainder of the sauce at the table. Definitely nice enough for guests.I served it with broccoli and white rice, and a cucumber tomato onion salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Made this exactly as directed (well, I used five chicken breasts) and I found 2 tablespoons of herbes de Provence overpowering. (I thought it looked like a lot as I was adding it into the marinade and thought maybe it was a typo and was supposed to be two teaspoons?) I love bold flavors but it was too much and I felt it overwhelmed the dish, even with the orange zest and ginger in there. If I make this again it will only be because I have so much tamarind left and yes, I'll cut the herbes in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was so good. I took one reviewer's advice and pounded the breasts to about 1 inch thickness before marinading. I also used tamarind chutney instead of tamarind paste. My entire family have already put in requests for me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States