Grilled Tamarind and Orange Glazed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is the best chicken I have ever made. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Not sure about this one....I love natural tamarind, tamarind candies and drinks, so excited to try it. first time I made it, I felt the ginger taste was too strong...my 15 year old however LOVED it. I made it again and my daughter thought it was ok, but I decided its not good enough for our taste buds to keep making. thanks for posting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was great. It was raining so cooked the chicken under the broiler. It did take me about 50 minutes to reduce the glaze but I live at high altitude. My husband, daughter and her boyfriend all loved it. My daughter said it had an unusual taste but in a good way because she's never had anything like it. I served it with a kale salad and long grain and wild rice. I will definitely make this again. Next time I might do kabobs like another reviewer suggested. Thanks for the recipe, it's definitely going into my rotation. Also, I made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rriddle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very yummy. A little time consuming for the sauce, but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I took this to wine tasting! It was a huge hit and tasted amazing! Many requests for recipe. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was very flavorful and delicious! We love big flavors so I actually added MORE of the herbs de' provence (even though other reviews said to cut it back, we loved it with more) and I used tangelos instead of oranges since they are in season and so yummy! don't be shy with the sriracha, the glaze was still a bit on the sweet side even with 4 big squirts of it....... we had it over couscous with a salad and it was phe-nom-nom! will def make again....... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RondaRDH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This may just be my favorite chicken recipe on this site. It is just so good. Had a hard time finding tamarind paste in a grocery store so ended up in an Asian market in my city. Well worth it. This will be my go to recipe when having company over to do some grilling. The sauce can be made ahead and reheated. This recipe is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Not bad. I used half the herbs de provence because the full amount was way too much. I may even reduce more next time. I couldn't find oranges big enough to juice either so I just used OJ. The recipe doesn't speficy if you skewer or cut the breasts at all so I just made the whole breasts. I think it might be better to cut and thread the chicken onto skewers. Oh and I cooked mine in the oven. Definitely missed the smoky flavour a bbq would give. I think this is one grill recipe that can't be done in an oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Good tasting but entirely too much trouble for end result. I followed recipe to the letter as I had all ingredients. Started to panic after 30 min b/c sauce wasn't reducing to glaze consistency. It was closer to an hour when it looked like it should. I said it tasted good, but the chicken was too sweet for my taste. For those who do like sweet poultry, it would be nice if you could make a bigger batch of glaze and save it for 2-3 grills. Perhaps then, the recipe might be worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very tasty with one complaint. I made this exactly as directed, using tamarind paste, not concentrate. It took an extremely long time to attempt to cook the tamarind down (it remained in lumps even after an hour of vigorous boiling and even hitting it w/ a stick blender). The end result of the glaze was tasty but too sour for me, so I ended up doubling or tripling the sugar. It was still plenty sour then. I loved the chicken overall, but next time I will either use whole tamarind or find the concentrate liquid to ease preparation of the glaze. I will absolutely make this again. (Oh, and I did have to bake and then broil rather than use the grill. 425 for 15-20 mins and finish under broiler w/ glaze... was perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States