Grilled Swordfish Steaks with Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Keni turned me on to this tonight, and I'm glad she did. I was skeptical because I enjoy swordfish as is, with just some lemon and s&p. But, I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised!! I loved the flavors of the cucumber sauce and the bbq coated swordfish. The only thing I did different, and only because I did not have an onion, was that I used a shallot instead. I will be posting pics on my page tonight. Great recipe, awesome flavor, and it does not overpower that delicious swordfish flavor. Thanks Cyndi! (and keni, for the suggestion!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Wow! Hubby & I LOVED this! I left out the lemon zest & the addition of the lemon slice at the end. Unbelievably good! The cool cucumber sauce was incredible w/the spice of the swordfish. I'll definately be having this again-maybe even trying it on other fish too! Thanks Cyndi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I love this dish. I like spicy food so I used a thai pepper and garlic chili sauce and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I tried this recipe and I though it was ok but nothing to write home about. the flavors too me did not mesh well together. over all disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathie Brundege
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Wonderful Recipe, Did tweak the marinade for our swordfish to our taste tonight. Followed the recipe for the cucumber sauce and it was perfect with the meaty fish! For my marinade I used olive oil, and sesame oil, minced onion and garlic. Added Lemon Thyme, Herbes de Provence, a dash of Lemon Pepper seasoning, onion powder and salt and pepper. Grilled for 4 minutes, then turned 45 degrees to enhance grill marks and cooked 2 minutes longer. Flipped and cooked another 2-3 minutes, covered with foil while I was getting the rest of our meal finished. Served this with a Zucchini and Corn Medley and it was a perfect summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Excellent I used chili sauce with ginger. It was especially good because of the way we got the sword fish. My friend Alex ripped it out of a 5 meter long sharks mouth as he was gorging on it. True story. But that's how we do it in New Zealand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I added garlic powder, but overall great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was really good and easy to prepare. I was hoping for more spice but I guess the chili sauce I had wasn't enough. Next time I will add heat. Served with roasted potatoes in a spicy aioli sauce which went well with the cooling cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I have wanted to make this for so long! I was in the fish market here in Naples and noticed they had beautiful swordfish steaks, so I picked up a few. I made this as written with the exception of adding a touch of honey to the chili sauce blend. My husband is not a cuke fan, so I served his cucumber sauce in a small cup on his plate to try. He used it all and finished the entire steak (it was a good size)! I'd say that sums it up!! I enjoyed it, too! Thanks Cyndi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States