Grilled Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
My daughter and I really liked these. Try dipping them in sour cream - delicious! My husband thought they were a little mushy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Simply FANTASTIC...this recipe is a keeper...we will make this recipe over and over...Thanks..!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Joy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
We ate these, but didn't really care for them. Sesame oil and soy sauce are 2 of my favorite ingredients however they just didn't pair well w/ the sweet potatoes in my opinion. I'll stick to my regular sweet potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Nice sweet potatoes. I didn't have enough honey, but I used what I had. I grilled on the george foreman since it's cold out. They are pretty good, with a hint of the flavors. I didn't peel them--I'm a bit lazy and I also prefer to keep the nutrients from the skin if possible. I usually just cut off the ends and any parts that look suspicious, then go ahead with the recipe. I cut into spears, which worked well enough to grill on the foreman. Definitely use a basket if you spear them and grill on the outdoor grill; otherwise, you'll lose them to the fire. We enjoyed these with pork chops and pasta. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The grilling was terrific, but the soy and sesame oil did not go well with the flavor of the sweet potatoes. I think next time I will use a little olive oil and no soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I loved this combination! I didn't have any apple juice so I did a tablespoon each of orange and lime juices instead. And I added a bit of heat with a tsp of chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
i used chardonnay instead of the juice sherry as I was out of everything. I also didnt have any sesame oil so used olive oil. These were awesome!!!! the baste at the end to carmelize is the key. I will definatley make again and also try the sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Really enjoyed these and I'll be making them again this way in a few days for Thanksgiving. I used the apple juice and Asian (toasted) sesame oil, and I agree with another reviewer that the sesame oil is key. Instead of steaming the sweet potatoes, I just baked them in the oven, wrapped in foil, until they were about 3/4 done, then peeled the potatoes and proceeded from there. I was just too lazy to get the steamer out & set up, and it seemed to work find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These grilled sweet potatoes were great!!! I had to substitute the apple juice for OJ and used maple syrup in place of honey as suggested by another reviewer. Cooked about 20 minutes total on the grill, but great taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Just tried this recipe and loved it! I followed it as is, using the sherry and sesame oil. Mmm. I broiled instead of grilling because our grill was full. Grilling might have made them even tastier but we were pleased. One reviewer thought the flavor didn't go through the potatoes enough. I think the key is not having really big pieces of sweet potato. Mine were about 2" x 1" and they were quite flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States