Grilled Sweet Potatoes with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have made these on the grill and baked in the oven, everyone loves them. Because we have a diabetic in the family, we leave out the sugar and used organic coconut oil instead of butter sooo good and still so sweet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made this for a BBQ side dish...it's so yummy. Got rave reviews. Everyone thinks it tastes like appe pie. I used Granny Smith apples and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this today with my grilled steaks for lunch. The recipe is kind of open ended, so it's hard to rate on the seasonings. After reading a couple reviews, I went with 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and I eyeballed the brown sugar. I used 2 tablespoons of butter in each pack and split the potatoes into 3 packets. I use 1 large Macintosh Apple and wished I had used 2. I started the packets in the oven because the grill was pretty full and only had the packets on the grill for about 10 minutes as the steaks came off. Overall a very nice change from the usual grill vegetables and very tasty. Thanks for the idea! Next time I want to grill longer to caramelize the sugar a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I used olive oil, greek seasonings, and added shredded cheddar cheese about 15 minutes prior to plating. no sugar needed. great with pork loins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very easy to make and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I was in a bit of a rush, so I hurried the sweet potatoes along by microwaving them for four minutes on high before adding the rest of the ingredients. I made one large packet and tossed the contents occasionally with my tongs. This isn’t the prettiest side dish but it was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Very easy and tasty with the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
My husband isn't exactly fond of sweet potatoes but when I put this dish in front of him he couldn't stop eating it. The recipe is great all around I've never gotten any complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
this was the BOMB!!!! I used my mandolin to get even and exact slices with both the sweet potatoes and the apples it was wonderful, even people that did not like sweet potatoes gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My review is for the recipe itself and not for the taste. The taste of cinnamon apples is delicious and so is the taste of sweet potatoes with brown sugar. Hence the combination of both. Yum! Thank you to the person who provided the idea to even try this in a grill. That being said, there's no specification of measurements nor what type of apple to us and so this is more of an idea for your interpretation. I personally used a gala apple which is what I had on hand but I feel it would have been better with a tart apple such as granny smith. I used brown sugar instead and mind the sugar due to the sweetness of the potato and apple. For other comments using salt i snot necessary as the butter is already salty. It was also missing a bit of something like maybe nuts on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zepolystek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States