Grilled Sweet Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I've been making these for 15+ years and agree w/ the other reviewer - no need for the ice cube. I sometimes omit the bouillon and they're still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
These have become a staple in our house. The only addition - some sherry. Definitely don't need the ice cube when using sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Very good for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MySticMerLin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We made these for a "gourmet grilling night" with friends. They were a huge hit. We will be making them regularly for ourselves at home. They did have a wonderful french onion soup taste. Add a little cheese to the onion and it will be there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very good, will become a staple in this house. Low fat, low cal and big on flavor. I served them with spicy turkey burgers, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These were the BEST Grilled Onions! My DH and I had them for dinner with a Vegetarian guest & they were a fabulous hit! I cut the tablespoon of butter into quarters and used 1/4 to rub the outside of the onion before sprinkling the garlic powder over it for added flavor. The butter added just the right amount of liquid added with the juice of the onion. I cooked at 350 for 45 min and turned up to 400 for another 15 min. They were just oh-so-perfectly cooked. (with an ever-so-slight 'crunch' to them) We used the leftover for our breakfast omelette the next morning!!!! YUMMY! Will definitely make again, and again, and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Kash Trump

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I make these in the oven when I am using it for another dish. I bake them for about an 45 minutes to an hour at what ever tempurature the other dish is cooking at, you can sqeeze them to see if there are tender. I see that you vent the foil, if you don't vent you will not need the ice cube, I also add pepper. If I am baking a chicken recipe I use a chicken bouillon instead of beef. Also make sure you put them in a oven safe dish, in case any of them leak. Another tip is pre- cook the onions a little bit with the seasoning & butter in the microwave in a glass baking dish, then take them out and cover dish with foil and finish cooking them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is wonderful! A friend of mine introduced me to this and my young daughter and I both found it delightful. For a little more flavor add a little garlic salt or powder to your onion before closing it up in the foil. You will need a bowl when it is ready plus, you will find that the liquid is good dripped over your steak or pork chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This is actually a Paula Dean recipe and, as is the case with her version (Saturday Night Vidalias), sweet onions like Vidalias or Walla Wallas are the best prepared this way. They can be served as a side dish, family style, or if your onions are smaller, as an individual side. I would definitely omit the ice cubes. Sweet onions produce plenty of their own liquid and, as another reviewer suggested, add fresh cracked pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These were great! My sister had told me about them & I had to try it. Great little side for any barbecue dinner - quick, easy & light - and a little something different to add to the mix. Thanks, Megoondas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States