Grilled Sweet Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have been making these "little-goodies" for years on the grill. If you like onion soup, you will love this. Fresh pepper is good on them, no need for salt because of the bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I make these in the oven when I am using it for another dish. I bake them for about an 45 minutes to an hour at what ever tempurature the other dish is cooking at, you can sqeeze them to see if there are tender. I see that you vent the foil, if you don't vent you will not need the ice cube, I also add pepper. If I am baking a chicken recipe I use a chicken bouillon instead of beef. Also make sure you put them in a oven safe dish, in case any of them leak. Another tip is pre- cook the onions a little bit with the seasoning & butter in the microwave in a glass baking dish, then take them out and cover dish with foil and finish cooking them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is wonderful! A friend of mine introduced me to this and my young daughter and I both found it delightful. For a little more flavor add a little garlic salt or powder to your onion before closing it up in the foil. You will need a bowl when it is ready plus, you will find that the liquid is good dripped over your steak or pork chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This is actually a Paula Dean recipe and, as is the case with her version (Saturday Night Vidalias), sweet onions like Vidalias or Walla Wallas are the best prepared this way. They can be served as a side dish, family style, or if your onions are smaller, as an individual side. I would definitely omit the ice cubes. Sweet onions produce plenty of their own liquid and, as another reviewer suggested, add fresh cracked pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very good, will become a staple in this house. Low fat, low cal and big on flavor. I served them with spicy turkey burgers, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The recipe sounded really good but they turned out bland. I added a little brown sugar hoping the sweet would cook in with the butter and it was still bland. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These were great! My sister had told me about them & I had to try it. Great little side for any barbecue dinner - quick, easy & light - and a little something different to add to the mix. Thanks, Megoondas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Very good for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MySticMerLin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great flavor out of our sweet onions. However, I found the ice cubes unnecessary. Also, even though we used fairly small onions, they weren't quite caramelized after 30 minutes. I will definitely make this again, but next time leave them on the grill for much longer. PS - we ate these with grilled steaks. Delicious combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I've been making these for 15+ years and agree w/ the other reviewer - no need for the ice cube. I sometimes omit the bouillon and they're still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States