Grilled Sweet Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
These were ok. I guess I was expecting a little more from the rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was a great side dish to 'Smothered Filet Mignon', 'Grilled Rock Lobster Tails' both from AR and grilled Parmesan green beans. I only made one onion for my husband and I to share. The flavor was very good, but the beef bouillon made them salty. I will made them again, but will be using low-sodium bouillon. The onion I used wasn't huge, and it took about 35 minutes. It was perfectly cooked without being the least bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Made these tonight without the ice cubes...amazing treat! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Darling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
We do this a lot and we love it. if you want just a little different flavor add some parmesan cheese to it before you bake it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
These have become a staple in our house. The only addition - some sherry. Definitely don't need the ice cube when using sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These were the BEST Grilled Onions! My DH and I had them for dinner with a Vegetarian guest & they were a fabulous hit! I cut the tablespoon of butter into quarters and used 1/4 to rub the outside of the onion before sprinkling the garlic powder over it for added flavor. The butter added just the right amount of liquid added with the juice of the onion. I cooked at 350 for 45 min and turned up to 400 for another 15 min. They were just oh-so-perfectly cooked. (with an ever-so-slight 'crunch' to them) We used the leftover for our breakfast omelette the next morning!!!! YUMMY! Will definitely make again, and again, and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Kash Trump

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We made these for a "gourmet grilling night" with friends. They were a huge hit. We will be making them regularly for ourselves at home. They did have a wonderful french onion soup taste. Add a little cheese to the onion and it will be there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I've been making these for 15+ years and agree w/ the other reviewer - no need for the ice cube. I sometimes omit the bouillon and they're still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great flavor out of our sweet onions. However, I found the ice cubes unnecessary. Also, even though we used fairly small onions, they weren't quite caramelized after 30 minutes. I will definitely make this again, but next time leave them on the grill for much longer. PS - we ate these with grilled steaks. Delicious combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Very good for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MySticMerLin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States