Grilled Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage with Tomato Cream Sauce Over Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made a few alterations based upon what I had on hand & to make it a little healthier: Substitute 1 15oz. can chicken broth for wine & 3tps whole wheat flour & milk with 3 tps fat free cream cheese for cream. I added a few veggies like green peppers & mushrooms to the dish. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I had to add a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce, but overall it ws a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was just okay. It was just too bitter even with the sweet sausage. I added 1/2 tsp basil which helped, but I think doubling the cream would be good. I didn't have any more so I added 3 TBS sour cream instead. I think that it's the red wine that pushes it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good but the sauce does need thickening... I drained my diced tomatoes and added a little tomato paste and cornstarch to thicken a bit. I also added just a bit of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I opted for penne vs. linguine as that's what I had on hand. I garnished it with a little parsley, served it with garlic bread and a fresh garden salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My family, even my picky four-year-old loved it! I used chicken broth instead of wine, and added the parmesan to the sauce to aid in thickening. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREESERFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I used the tomato basil chicken sausage and we really enjoyed this. I will make this again as a regular rotation. It was good even with out the sausage. Everyone in our house asked for this again so thats 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is really 3.5 stars:) We liked it but we didn't love it. The wine really did give it good flavor. And we really like the chicken sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I also used the chicken broth in place of the wine. The wine would have given it a much richer flavor. The sauce was way to thin, but you could use cornstarch to thicken it. Overall, it was good flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
YUMMY! This was absolutely perfect!!!! I didn't use the suggested sausage, I used one from Whole Foods, with feta and artichokes in it. I added mushrooms and everything else left the same. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was really tasty. I did have to make a couple of substitutions based on what I had on hand. 1/2 jar of spaghetti sauce for the diced tomatoes and plain old milk for the cream. Used chianti for the red wine. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States