Grilled Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage with Tomato Cream Sauce Over Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I thought this was ok, the sauce was too thin though. My husband, however, did not like it. He thought the sausages contain far too much fennel seed, overpoweringly strong even. I'll try them another way and see if he feels the same, but he has asked me to buy a different flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was pretty tasty, although it was nothing memorable. The cabernet that I used made the sauce an unattractive color when it mixed with the tomatoes. I let the sauce simmer about 20 minutes before adding the cream to allow it to thicken. I also found myself smooshing the tomato chunks to help with the thickening. It came out nice, the flavor was good and we all enjoyed it. My DD complained it was a little too sweet. I'm not sure if that was from the sausage or the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
DELIGHTFUL! We really enjoyed this. I added a little basil and thickened with a bit of cornstarch. Otherwise, followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Yummy!! The whole family raved over this. It will be a keeper for me. The only thing I did different, was to add mushrooms. Others had said that mushrooms made it even better, and I had a lot of them that needed to get used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Made minor alteration based on personal preference. Used fresh basil instead of oregano, plain canned tomatoes instead of seasoned and omitted the red wine . Added 1TB sugar to cut the acidity from the tomatoes. Used whole wheat linguine also. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good but the sauce does need thickening... I drained my diced tomatoes and added a little tomato paste and cornstarch to thicken a bit. I also added just a bit of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I opted for penne vs. linguine as that's what I had on hand. I garnished it with a little parsley, served it with garlic bread and a fresh garden salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very nice flavors in this recipe. The sauce seemed very thin per the recipe so I cooked it down further than instructed. I think you could also use the Roasted Pepper & Asiago sausage in this one as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was excellent! I did need to thicken it b/c it was waaaay too watery, but other than that, I followed the recipe. LOVED the flavors of this and think it would be wonderful w/ the addition of some mushrooms, which I plan to try next time. Hubby nd the little guy loved this too...a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This sausage is so good. My family loved that it was very flavorful with our being too sweet or too intense. My kids loved it! I used a 12 oz package of sausage (that's what was on the shelf) and it seemed like a lot so 16oz would definitely have been too much. Can't wait to use this in other things. I did puree all but 1/4 cup of the sauce before adding the sausage because my husband is not a fan of chunks of onion or tomato. Also I added 1T of cornstarch to thicken it. Based on the reviews and the type of wine I had on hand I did 1/4c of red wine and 1/2c of low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We loved the Al Fresco sausages and this was a great dish. In the future I might completely eliminate the cream to make it healthier and prettier-looking. I don't care much for the pinkish hue that the cream mixed with the tomatoes create. It is delicious, regardless, but I will probably skip it when I make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States