Grilled Steak Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I have made this for multiple parties and it has been a hit every time. Even my friend who hates mushrooms was asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
In all fairness to the recipe, I used some flank steak which had been in the freezer for a while. I had a sore arm from trying to pound it out thinly, and it turned out very tough, even though it was cooked medium rare...but the filling was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Really liked this recipe. Thanks for sharing! The only thing I added was garlic. I put the mushrooms, green onions, basil, chives and garlic in the blender to chop it up finely. Spread that over the pounded meat and topped with the bacon. Then rolled it up and sliced. I brushed with Olive Oil and seasoned with salt and pepper and then placed in a very hot pan under the broiler for 2.5 mins each side. Gave it a nice sear on the meat and cooked to a mid rare. It was perfect! I served with Parmesan & Spinach Orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I really enjoyed these. I don't eat beef very often but I liked this a lot. The pounding of the steak was a bit of a pain and I wish I could have gotten it thinner. The filling was delicious. I uses garlic instead of chives and used peppered turkey bacon. I have leftovers.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
was good - marinated in Italian dressing prior to stuffing. Did not cut up until served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
My entire family loved this meal. I took some of the ideas from others posts and added 3 cloves of garlic and some spinach. My children did not even realize they were eating a vegetable! I also cooked the entire roll and cut it into pinwheels after cooking. Worked much better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Turned out just as I was hoping it would! A bit put-zy to assemble, but a wonderful success, both in flavor and presentation, for a special dinner with friends. We secured each with a toothpick soaked in water and grilled them on foil in case they fell apart, but they held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This tasted good, but it was tricky to keep it together, and quite a bit of the filling dripped out into the grill and created a smokey mess. I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
this is a good recipe for pinwheels.I could never find one.To the filling,I added a layer of fresh spinach leaves & sprinkled with parmesan cheese before I rolled it up. I also put the toothpicks in it to hold together BEFORE I cut it into serving pieces. Brush it with olive oil add S&P then put on a screaming hot grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Oceanside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very yummy. I used ideas I read in the other comments and added some chopped garlic and cooked the filling in a little bit if the bacon grease before adding it to the flank, I also added a few slices of swiss. My grill wasn't working so I stuck the slices in a roasting pan on a flat rack and baked for 30 minutes at 350. The steak was cooked medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States