Grilled Steak and Asian Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this for a Sunday supper in August - the weather was just right for grilling, and I love to incorporate seasonal veggies into my meals. I cut down on the amount of red pepper, and added zucchini and yellow squash, which we really liked. The noodle and veggie part was so good, like a new form of comfort food. And nothing tops a few slices of perfectly seasoned and cooked steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We liked this recipe but it was on the sweeter side. I think the next time I make this we'll use some chili's to add some heat to offset the sweetness. Also added some mushrooms and broccoli so there were extra veggies for my son the vegetarian, and just omitted the steak for his dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
We liked this, but I think a little Sriracha and some chopped peanuts, instead of sesame seeds, would send this up a notch. The meat was tender and tasty, and I liked the combination of veggies. I subbed snow peas for sugar snap peas, and I'm glad I did. Sugar snaps would have made this too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I normally have a sweet tooth as well, but this dressing was for sure pretty sweet, and there was a lot of it. We used organic lo mein noodles instead of the spaghetti, and I also subbed snow peas for snap peas since they looked fresher at the store. I had squeezed an entire large lime into the marinade (so more than the recipe called for), but it still wasn't enough to cut the sweetness. The Asian sesame dressing I had chosen was the Annie's Organic one, so maybe I will just need to experiment with others to see how they flavor this. Also, our family is big into veggies, so I would probably double the amount of snow peas for next time. The peppers and carrots made it plenty sweet, so I would leave them as-is, but for sure, it needed something to balance the flavors a bit better. All in all, another repeat, and that meat was GREAT, and so easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe, I did make my own marinade using a wok seasoned cooking oil, low sodium soy sauce, beef broth, and a dash of sesame oil, and some fresh ground ginger...I loved topping this with the grilled marinated steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My husband says this is a solid 4 star recipe. I wish I could give it 4 1/2. I used Soba Noodles (Japanese Buckwheat) which were great. My vegies did get a bit over cooked, so they were not as crisp as I would have liked. But all in all, this is a recipe we will be making again. Pretty quick and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Use tri tip or top sirloin don't over cook...add some heat! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I had never cooked steak before. That's right, never. I haven't been much of a read meat eater since my early teens, so literally for more than half my life. For someone that has never cooked steak before, I was not happy that it came out dry so I couldn't really enjoy the steak! I cooked 16 minutes on my gas grill over medium heat, covered, as indicated and there is no way this steak was of medium doneness; definitely well done. The marinade itself had great flavor and I marinated for 2 hours. I did make my own yummy Asian sesame ginger vinaigrette. I also added celery to the veg. I wish I had taken the advice of reviewer Bibi, who omitted the sugar snap peas and used snow peas; the sugar snaps were a little too sweet for the dish. I would try this again, swapping the peas and ensuring the steak was not over-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Used flank steak as would be used in restaurant, never cook steak over 5 min per side steak continues to cook after removed from grill. Let meat rest at least 10 minutes or all the juices will come out of meat and it will be dry. Also, I never close grill cover when cooking red meat, it speeds the cooking time and dries the meat. Chief at a fine dining restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States