Grilled Skirt Steak with Homemade Asian Barbeque Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Thank you Chef John - this is great marinade and made for a delicious fast and easy dinner. I would marinate the meat longer than the 15 minutes called for and as for cooking to 140 - I don't agree - this meat should be pink in the center and only takes a couple of minutes per side on a hot grill. Slice against the grain into thin strips and you can't go wrong. Delicious! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Wow! Very rarely do I think something is worthy of a 5 star rating, but this is simply the best skirt steak I have ever had! Not sure marinated it for 15 minutes would actually do the trick. Maybe it's true, but I didn't want tough meat. So to be sure, I marinated for about a day and a half, turning it over and over in the fridge to make sure all sides were nice and juicy! I can't wait to get more skirt steak to do it again! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
The Best I Ever Had...My Son (who does not like steak) Ask me to cook it all the time now!!! The Best Compliment You Can Get...(2 adjustments...1 teaspoon of soy sauce, 1 teaspoon of fish sauce) ...Other Than That...Excellent!!! LB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toosxz4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
My husband and I thought this was one of the best steak dinners we have ever had at home! I marinaded about an hour and the steak was so tender and the flavor was amazing. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyz5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Cooked under the broiler. Delicious and a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is AMAZING!! I didn't have skirt steak, so I used london broil sliced about 1" think and marinated it about 8 hours. While the steak was grilling, I heated up the marinade and put it over hot rice. This is a definite "keeper" and also quite an inexpensive meal. My family likes things on the "zippy" side, so I use 2 tablespoons of the chile paste instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but I marinated the skirt steak over night and then grilled it outside. DELICIOUS. My 11 year old loved it. When he tasted the steak he said "mmm....the steak is bomb". Excellent recipe. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I prepared this recipe as written, fish sauce and all. I found it to be easy and delicious and will definitely be adding this to the list of keepers. As with most other Chef John recipes, there is not only a lot of flavor here, but it is also well-balanced. I also tried this marinade on pork tenderloin and flank steak and both were fantastic. I allowed those to marinate for 8-10 hours, though, because they were not as thin as skirt steak and I was looking for a serious hit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
That is one awesome marinade! You sir are a genius!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This marinade really is fantastic. I've used it for skirt steak, as shown, but also for salmon - delicious! I agree with the previous reviewer who commented that skirt steak really only needs 2-3 minutes each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States