Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Very good, but the sauce is soooo sweet (and I used unsweetened jam). I would suggest cutting down on the honey by about ? (the fact that the apples marinate with the shrimps adds lots of sweetness to the marinade). Otherwise the taste was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Increased to 6 people so I would get more marinade for veggie's. Had 34 smaller size shrimp. Did 1 T lemon and 1 T Lime juice. Put 1 T applesauce in veggie marinade because the 2 (not 3) gala apples were with the shrimp skewers. NOTE: could do without apple and use applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These are DELICIOUS! I am eating the last shrimp now, and I am so sad I may just have to go back and make some more for myself. I didn't have any basil, and subbed cider vinegar and pumpkin jam. Also made in a skillet on the stovetop instead of grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were a BIG hit at our Christmas dinner this year. I would not change a thing, but making double the marinade that is. Highly Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadouwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
My wife and two grown sons went nuts over this recipe! It was easy to throw together on a work night when the boys came over. Apple slices tended to split when skewered, so maybe use a variety that's less crisp. I thought the recipe might be a bit spicy but used the recommended amount of chili pepper and it was not at all. Here's a "green" tip - marinate in a reusable plastic container instead of a bag. Worked fine and can be washed and reused. Next time I plan to try this in my smoker. The apple might be very good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackinthewoods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Didn't think this recipe was something to save. The apples seemed under baked by the time the shrimp was perfect. Tried recipe as was written with just one skewer before tweaking. Needed more spices for me. Marinated uncooked shrimp in seasoning 24 hours and it seemed better but still nothing to go on and on about. Sorry. Still, I can see how some would enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotstuff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
FABULOUS! I used chipotle powder instead of red pepper flake which really complimented the strawberry. Marinated it for 2 hours and doubled the sauce as suggested by previous members which was a fabulous idea. We decided to serve the skewers elegantly over spinach greens and thinly sliced red onion which was delicious. The extra marinate was then used as the dressing. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is surprisingly really tasty. Who would have thought to use strawberry jam and shrimp? I marinated the shrimp for about 24 hours and after grilling, they had a wonderful slightly sweet flavor. I'm not a fan of Gala apples so I used red delicious and it was still really delicious. The only mistake I made was using shrimp with the shells on (whoops!). Definitely try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Really tasty! I omitted the sugar and added a bit more dhili flakes...Next time,I'll grill apples separately for a little longer so they have a chance to carmelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States