Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I really enjoyed this! Like others mentioned, I grated apple right into the marinade and then based the shrimp with extra marinade on the BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
LOVE this recipe! Used Fuji apples instead (what I had), so the apples were a little more crisp, but still good. Loved how the sweet parts of the marinade somewhat carmelized on the shrimp. My husband couldn't stop raving about this recipe, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I think this is one of the best things I have ever cooked on allrecipes. I did this for a get together I had in my back yard. I also did another recipe for shrimp skewers that had zucchini and onions on them. Those were good, but couldn't compare to these and since we didn't have enough, everybody was fighting over these! Things I changed: I let them marinate for a lot longer, like 2-3 hours. And I doubled the marinade recipe, I had huge shrimp, and I usually always end up doubling it any recipe that has a marinade. Good thing I did or it wouldn't have been enough. One last thing, we added pineapple because we happened to have a bunch in the fridge and I knew it would be good, and it was. I think the amount was around 2 cups, but I can't be sure...about as much as the apple amount. You need to add pineapples to this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is one of the best marinades that I have ever had on shrimp. the combination of sweet and spicy really make this shine. I've done this with chicken, scallops and shrimp. Everyone that has tried this keeps telling me I have to give them the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Best. Shrimp. Ever!! I've made this multiple times for dinner parties, for boyfriends, and for family functions and it is a huge hit every time. Mostly I have followed the recipe exactly, a couple times I have substituted a small amount of dried basil when I did not have fresh and it was still tasty. I've also used various different kinds of apples and it is still good. This is my number one go-to recipe when I need to impress guests! Excellent all around. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really good - I loved the flavor of the apples. We have also tried it with marinaded pork and loved that too. Served with rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
My son loved these! I used rice vinegar, lime juice, pepper sauce because that is what I had on hand. It is fall in New England, so the apples were nice and fresh. I boiled down the leftover marinade for a basting sauce. Only problem, the grill got pretty messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
wow! made it as a freezer meal - tossed it all in the marinade in a freezer bag and froze it. took the bag camping - skewered the shrimp and apples when thawed and grilled. it was delicious! apples were a little soft to thread because they had been frozen, but the final results were fabulous anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very easy and so yummy! Next time I make this, I will add a little more red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
So good and easy! The only thing that I didn't put in was the red pepper flakes (becuase I forgot them) and it was still amazing. I will be making this all summer long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not so Julia Child

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States