Grilled Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I have to say this is by far the best recipes I have found for scallops. I read all the reviews as I always do and yes there are postive and negative always but that didn't scare me away.I think the taste is fabulous. I use jarred lemon juice a little less then 1/4 cup, I use a butter subsitite,smart butter 1/3 cup, fresh parsley I grew,and the rest of ingrediants on the list.I kept mine in the simmered marinade juice for probably 5 or more minutes and let sit in a bowl after taking them out of juice prob 20 minutes before grilling because I didnt have skewers and hub went to the store to get them. I then reheated remaining marinade adding more butter and little more onion heated for another 5 to 10 min on simmer. Grilled the scallop on the grill 4 or so mins realizing they were sticking so I placed them in a disposable grill metal pan, and cooked a total of 8 more mins . They were absolutely perfect.I tested for doneness making sure white and right texture.I served mine over steamed white rice placed scallops on top poured on marinade that had simmered and a side of garlic broccoli. My hub ravved saying how good these were, better than a resturaunt and alot more of it. We used large sea scallops btw.Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This recipe was simply amazing and everyone loved it. It's simple enough to prepare, and tastes like you put a lot into it.I served with a loaf of french bread to soak up the leftover marinade. Instead of skewering the scallops and risking losing the smaller pieces, we put them in a double-sided grate with a handle on it. It makes it easier to turn them, and uses much less time than skewering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
These were pretty good. I probably wouldn't make them again because they taste much like pan fried scallops in butter, therefore there was too much work to get that simple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
We used scallops and shrimp with this recipe - OH MY GOSH!!! the best - we now have a new family favorite - Many Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
My husband and I didn't care for this recipe at all. The marinade left a distinct aftertaste. Possibly too much lemon juice or onions. Not quite sure what could improve this. We will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I was very disappointed by this recipe, and I'm not sure what I did wrong. My scallops were large frozen sea scallops from Sam's. I thawed them but they were still cold. So when they combined with the butter mixture, it all congealed. Kinda gross. Then when they went into my grill basket and onto the grill, the butter melted off causing flare ups. The flavor was uninspiring and bland. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
this was very very good! my husband said they were the best scallops he has had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. I did need to grill them a little longer than the recipe called for, but other than that it was perfect. Because I had it in my garden, I added some fresh dill rather than the parsley and I also used a little less lemon that it called for, but that was just a perference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
made this recipe and grilled it on the beach over hot coals,it was teriffic,I will make it again. thanks C Cameron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious! I added about a tbs. of dried tarragon to the marinade (no parsley). We REALLY enjoyed these scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States