Grilled Sausages with Caramelized Onions and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
yummm!!! I really like this fall themed recipe. I live in Germany so apples and sausage is in no short suppy and am always looking for delicious recipes that include both of them. Anyways I made a few little changes, I cooked the sausages in beer and then cut them lengthways and turned the heat up high which allows the beer to carmelize and crisps the outside of the sausages. I did the apple onion mixture as directed and served it on top of some mashed potatoes with the sausages on the very top. So so so so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I really enjoyed this but I made a few alterations. I used sweet italian sausages, granny smith apples, red wine vinegar & I was out of brown sugar so I used 5 tbp. red wine vinegar, 5 tbp. sugar & 1 tbp. molasses. I broiled the sausages & then sliced them on a diagonal & added them to the apple & onion mixture for a couple of minutes to coat w/ the sauce. Very good! The flavor of the sauce w/ the sausages meshed together very well. Next time I will double the onions though because they were that good. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I have made this two times. The first time I used bangers and followed the recipe, except I split open the sausages before placing them under the broiler. I liked it alot but my husband thought it was too appley. The SECOND time I made it I used brats and 3/4 of the reccommended apples. I boiled the brats in dark beer instead of water and split them in half before placing them under the broiler. My husband loved it this time and the I liked that the brats had so much more flavor than the bangers. A very good German style dish!! Thanks for submitting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
A bit vinegar-y for my taste but good. I will add less vinegar next time, but I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wilson, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Hubbie and I thought this was yummy. I used pre-cooked kielbasa, so skipped the boiling, and just added it sliced up into the apple/onion mixture after it caramalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I thought this was delicious. My husband thought the apples tasted "funny". I'll give it a 4 as an average score. I used a chicken and apple sausage for the dish, I also think the apple and onion would go great with pork chops! Be sure to cook the onion and apple mixture at a high enough heat that it caramelizes rather than just boils down. I think mashed potatoes would be a good side with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
To keep this dish from completely veering off into candyland, it's best to choose a spicier sausage, a non-sweet variety of onion and tart apples. I used apple cider from a local orchard and started with only a tsp. of brown sugar, eventually adding one more before finishing with a splash of apple cider vinegar. I found the glazed onions and apples needed something ... possibly an herbal note, so a little fresh thyme went in the mix (if I had fresh sage, I would have used that). For even more of a savory counterbalance, I served with dijon mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was so tasty. I was looking for a quick supper and a little something different...did a search for sausages (because that's what I had out of the freezer) and what a pleasant surprise. We really enjoyed this recipe and will make again often. A perfect little weeknight fall supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I used our homemade Moose sausage and just did them in the fry pan made the sauce separate and simmered them together. Very good and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I used a mix of mild and hot Italian sausages, because that is what I had on hand; also used honeycrisp apples. I scaled the recipe down to 4 sausages, 1 onion, & 3 small apples, but used the full amount of butter/vinegar/brown sugar. What that saute sauce does to the onions and apples is really good, bringing out the best in those honeycrisps! My DH is a big fan of sausages, and I'm not; but we both enjoyed this meal. Served it with Pan-Fried Asparagus and Cornmeal Muffins I from this website. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Jayda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States