Grilled Sausages with Caramelized Onions and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
At my first trial, I had visitors from S. Africa, and they, together with me, really enjoyed this dish. The only thing I changed was to increas the vinegar and sugar by half again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was good but not incredible. We enjoyed it though. The taste was fairly mild and I couldn't even taste the onions once I was done cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I made this last night and WOW was it good!! My husband and daughter also really enjoyed it. I used Turkey Sausage (sweet italian style). My husband described it as "different"--in a good way. I used the cider vinegar. Thanks for sharing this recipe--we have 13 pounds of apples to eat after a trip to the orchard last weekend. There are only 3 of us here, so it's good to have different ways to use them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I thought this was a wonderful, easy recipe! I made it last night for dinner with some red apples I had gotten from the farmer’s market. I also used smoked sausage (halved and cut into links then browned in a skillet over medium heat). I used one large onion instead of the two medium onions the recipe called for. I also had apple cider vinegar on hand that I used in place of the apple cider/ red wine vinegar. It turned out perfect! I served it with the Oven Roasted Potatoes from this site and a nice dark beer. My husband was also pleased with the meal. I will definitely make this again throughout the fall season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I too found this a very good dish but not out of this world. I think doubling the brown sugar and vinegar would be better. It was a nice change having the apples in there and the combination of flavours was good. I will definitely make this again. A nice autumn dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Delish! Both my husband and I loved it - kids wouldn't touch the onion/apple mixture but they ate the meat and liked it. I had to substitute red wine vinegar because I was out of cider vinegar but it was still good. One note: I used apples rather past their prime (waste not, want not and all that sort of thing!) and they turned to mush. It wasn't like applesauce but I think it would've been better texture-wise to have firmer apples. Oh and I used Beef Brats but next time I'll use the real ones - tasted a little like a hot dog! So this goes in the recipe box and I'll definitely make this again - with the right ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I really enjoyed this but I made a few alterations. I used sweet italian sausages, granny smith apples, red wine vinegar & I was out of brown sugar so I used 5 tbp. red wine vinegar, 5 tbp. sugar & 1 tbp. molasses. I broiled the sausages & then sliced them on a diagonal & added them to the apple & onion mixture for a couple of minutes to coat w/ the sauce. Very good! The flavor of the sauce w/ the sausages meshed together very well. Next time I will double the onions though because they were that good. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! Apples and onions don't sound like a good combo, but this is now my favorite condiment for sausage dogs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I thought this was delicious. My husband thought the apples tasted "funny". I'll give it a 4 as an average score. I used a chicken and apple sausage for the dish, I also think the apple and onion would go great with pork chops! Be sure to cook the onion and apple mixture at a high enough heat that it caramelizes rather than just boils down. I think mashed potatoes would be a good side with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I changed this a little by adding some tomato paste and water to create more of a sauce. I ended up slicing the sausages (after cooking them through) and tossing them through the apple mixture before serving. Great tasting dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States