Grilled Sausages with Caramelized Onions and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Very good flavors. I used pulled pork that I cooked in the crock pot for my meat, but I used the apples and onions to go on top. Very tasty! Will make again, thanks for the recipe Jayda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I used the regular smoked sausage in the store because I was short on time, and it was on sale, and went ahead and just broiled it...yum! Holy smokes, it was great! I like my sausage a bit almost burnt, so the combo of that little bit of crunch, plus sticky of the apples and onions...it was great. It was easy, it's FAST, and my guests loved it. I served it with fresh bread and side salads to make it a bit more summery instead of autumnal. Moochas smoochas for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIEDRASPR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caguas, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe. My wife couldn't believe that apples and onions together would taste as good as they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Quite yummy and great for those who don't like or can't eat the traditional onions and peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Hubbie and I thought this was yummy. I used pre-cooked kielbasa, so skipped the boiling, and just added it sliced up into the apple/onion mixture after it caramalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I made this last night, and wanted to eat it all myself! I used chicken sausage with Gouda cheese-it was delectable! I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I used apple juice in place of the vinegar...I also cooked the appels and onions over med-high heat to carmelize better. The outcome was fantastic! A sticky delicious treat. I topped it onto a wheat bun and the entire family enjoyed it, even my three year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I changed this a little by adding some tomato paste and water to create more of a sauce. I ended up slicing the sausages (after cooking them through) and tossing them through the apple mixture before serving. Great tasting dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I thought this was delicious. My husband thought the apples tasted "funny". I'll give it a 4 as an average score. I used a chicken and apple sausage for the dish, I also think the apple and onion would go great with pork chops! Be sure to cook the onion and apple mixture at a high enough heat that it caramelizes rather than just boils down. I think mashed potatoes would be a good side with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! Apples and onions don't sound like a good combo, but this is now my favorite condiment for sausage dogs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States