Grilled Sausages with Caramelized Onions and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I used breakfast sausages because thats what I had on hand and thought this was really really yummy! We had it for dinner, but would make a nice brunch dish too. I thought it was sweet enough and wouldn't add additional sugar as has been suggested - maybe that's just me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I used a mix of mild and hot Italian sausages, because that is what I had on hand; also used honeycrisp apples. I scaled the recipe down to 4 sausages, 1 onion, & 3 small apples, but used the full amount of butter/vinegar/brown sugar. What that saute sauce does to the onions and apples is really good, bringing out the best in those honeycrisps! My DH is a big fan of sausages, and I'm not; but we both enjoyed this meal. Served it with Pan-Fried Asparagus and Cornmeal Muffins I from this website. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Jayda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
The apples and onions were so good. I followed Imvintage's advice and it worked very well. I used turkey sausages, which had a wierd texture and the flavor wasn't that great either. Next time I will use a better sausage. I really loved the apples/onions. I cut the recipe down to 3 sausages, and used one red onion and one large Honeycrisp apple and one small mystery apple (from a neighbor's tree, lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I'd give this 5 stars, but my hubby was only fairly impressed, so I gave it 4. I used Italian sausage (for some spice) and sliced it after broiling and added directly to the apples/onions and simmered so the sausage picked up the other flavors. Being of Germanic heritage, this recipe reminded me of traditional German cooking! The apples and onion really came together with all the other flavors! With all the different tastes going on, it's a "busy" flavor - a symphony of tastes... maybe too busy for my hubby's pallet, but I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Quite delicious! I used 3 sausages (about 1 lb) and still made a full recipe of apples/onions and I'm glad I did as they were yummy. I got an apple chicken sausage from the butcher at Whole Foods and it was perfect for this meal. We went apple picking this weekend and I was looking for recipes to use up apples, and I'm glad I found this one! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Pretty good, a different way to cook sausage. It has similar tastes to german potato salad, maybe because I used apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I'm always on the lookout for quick dishes to make on workdays that aren't boring. This definitely makes the list. I used herbed sausages and cooked them under the broiler, I also used red wine vinegar. I would maybe add in another onion next time. Really enjoyed this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I used apple/maple chicken sausages to go with this recipe but I felt that the whole meal was slightly flavorless, maybe because of the sausages. Next time I'll try it with sweet italian sausages instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe - the combo of onions & apples is super and then topped with "hot" sausage links - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This is a great taste combination! And it is so simple. I love the flavor of sauted onions with the sweetness of the apples, and this combined with the savory flavor of sausage - nothing is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States