Grilled Sausages with Caramelized Onions and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This recipe, although may sound strange at first, was amazing. I followed some recommendations to serve over a bed of mashed potatoes and it was amazing! Cannot wait to make it again. A real gem of a recipe. We used sweet onions and sweet Italian sausage and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Wonderful flavors and very fall-ish! Was looking for something quick and easy... and different... so fruit for dinner struck me!! I used kielbasa from Sam's... I don't know the brand but it is one we go back to repeatedly as it is a little sweet... used full 3 pound package...3 large granny smith apples, reduced the onion to 1 (just because I knew my kids would gripe if they saw too many) and then rather than using regular brown sugar, used 1 TBSP of brown sugar substitute (like sweet & lo). The flavors melded perfectly (and I am someone who has never been fond of pork & apples). I'm really glad I tried this...the granny smiths cooked up nicely...was not too soggy, grainy or sweet! Just perfect for us! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
SO GOOD! I used sweet Italian sausage and gala apples and it was just wonderful. The apples and sausage complimented each other perfectly. The vinegar and brown sugar combined to make a wonderful glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this great fall dish. I used sweet itlian sausage, like another reviewer though I think a spicy sausage would taste great against the sweetness of the apples. I forgot to peel my apples (granny smiths) but it didn't really make a difference so if you want to save a little bit of time I wouldn't worry to much about that step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Good combination. I used apples from our own tree which are really tart and still a little crunchy after cooking that long. I also added about a 1/4 tsp of ground cloves and a little bit more ground sage with the apples. Now I'm going to try to adapt the recipe to the oven so I can feed 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I used turkey brats from the grill. It tasted fabulous with the onion/apple mix. Perfect flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I think that the success of the super-sweet onions is to have a spicy sausage. And served over wild rice, it's great! I just sauteed bulk sausage, then set it aside while I carmelized the onion in the pan fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I make something similar all the time- my husband can never get enough. I use real maple syrup in place of the sugar, and I like to add a dash of beer or white wine if we have it around. Works great with chicken andouille sausages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Delicious anmd simple! I only used 1 1/2 onions and 2 apples and there was still tons! I used red wine vinegar and I also added one more tbsp of the vinegar because my boyfriend doesn't like sweet flavor with his meats. He was sceptical but in the end He loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I have made this two times. The first time I used bangers and followed the recipe, except I split open the sausages before placing them under the broiler. I liked it alot but my husband thought it was too appley. The SECOND time I made it I used brats and 3/4 of the reccommended apples. I boiled the brats in dark beer instead of water and split them in half before placing them under the broiler. My husband loved it this time and the I liked that the brats had so much more flavor than the bangers. A very good German style dish!! Thanks for submitting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States