Grilled Sausages with Caramelized Onions and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I browned the sausage, onions and apples added about 1/2 C. beer and cooked down. I put this on top of some mashed baby potatoes. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
great recipe! so easy and very tasty. ive made this many times when i dont have time. minimal, easy access recipe, easy cooking, and Great tasting way to jazz up plain sausages. i noticed one thing: in step 2 it says to poke the sausages Then boil them - this leaks out all the jiuce and sausages come out quite dry. i suggest boiling them without poking holes- halfway through cut the middle with a knife to check readi-ness and continue cooking as driected :] (please disregard my rating)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Sweet, very sweet. I'm the only one in my family of 5 that ate this. Even my husband, who'll eat anything, only picked out the sausage to eat. It's really sweet & the vinegar leaves an aftertaste. It's good, tho(to me:) but I'm not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did a search for meal recipes with sausages and this one came up. I also happened to have the other ingredients and decided to try it. I can't say I have really eaten anything that tasted quite like this. The sausages are cooked as any sausage might be, but the onion apple combination was very different. I expected more of a sweet apple taste, but instead it is more of a vinegar onion taste with just a hint of sweetness. I made mashed potatoes, but the apple and onion mixture didn't really work as a subtitute for gravy to go on top. So, the potatoes were served on the side, but gave a nice balance to the vinegar, onion, and apple mixture. This seems like a dish that might be served at a German restaurant, in my opinnion. One reviewer said to eat this dish with good beer and I think that may just be the compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
A bit vinegar-y for my taste but good. I will add less vinegar next time, but I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wilson, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I'm not a big fan of cooked apples, but this recipe was outstanding!~ I used pink lady apples and apple cider vinegar, along with a beef sausage I cooked on the grill. I didn't boil it first, just cooked it on the grill. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I didn't have brown sugar so I mixed some honey with plain sugar and used balsamic vinegar... It was delicious! Very simple recipe and will make again. Not many sausage fans in my house but this was gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
this is the 3rd time i'm making this it just keeps getting better. I never thought I would like the combination but it's perfect my wife and I love it and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Absolutely fabulous...I made this recipe twice in one week...it will likely become a weekly meal at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was sooooo good. I loved the sweetness of the apples and onions. I used Granny Smith apples and mild sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States