Grilled Sausages with Caramelized Onions and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Yummy! We really enjoyed this dish. My fiance says six stars. I used pre-cooked Johnsonville smoked turkey sausage, so I cooked the onions and apples according to the recipe, then added the heated, diagonally-sliced sausage to the skillet a minute or two before serving. Other sausages may have been better in this dish but we have to watch cholesterol. The recipe doesn't give a weight - or even type - for the sausages; I used six sausages (one package), total weight about fourteen ounces. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I used Granny Smith apples in this recipe. After I was halfway into this recipe, I realized I was out of apple cider vinegar but I did have apple juice--I just used apple juice instead of apple cider vinegar. My family loved these. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good. I used pre-cooked sausage and added it to the apple/onion mixture the last 2 minutes to coat in sauce. My husband said it's 'excellent'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was really good - but relies heavily on using a really tasty sausage. We used turkey sausage and I feel like it would be better with pork. The apples/onions were delicious. I followed the recipe exactly using apple cider vinegar and everyone enjoyed the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I wasn't sure how this would taste to be honest, it seemed so simple. But that's the beauty of it! It's simple and DELICIOUS! Made exactly as is, and it was perfect! Served it alongside some white rice. Will def make again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Makes a yummy fast meal. Great for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
To keep this dish from completely veering off into candyland, it's best to choose a spicier sausage, a non-sweet variety of onion and tart apples. I used apple cider from a local orchard and started with only a tsp. of brown sugar, eventually adding one more before finishing with a splash of apple cider vinegar. I found the glazed onions and apples needed something ... possibly an herbal note, so a little fresh thyme went in the mix (if I had fresh sage, I would have used that). For even more of a savory counterbalance, I served with dijon mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe was good, but not exceptional. I used smoked apple sausage that was pre-cooked, so I skipped the boiling step and grilled them on my George Foreman. The apple/onion mixture was good, but I would have liked more of a sauce. I put the mixture into some hoagie rolls and it turned out pretty good. I'd definitely make this again, but will figure out a way to make more of a sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was so tasty. I was looking for a quick supper and a little something different...did a search for sausages (because that's what I had out of the freezer) and what a pleasant surprise. We really enjoyed this recipe and will make again often. A perfect little weeknight fall supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States