Grilled Sausages with Caramelized Onions and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! Apples and onions don't sound like a good combo, but this is now my favorite condiment for sausage dogs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I really enjoyed this but I made a few alterations. I used sweet italian sausages, granny smith apples, red wine vinegar & I was out of brown sugar so I used 5 tbp. red wine vinegar, 5 tbp. sugar & 1 tbp. molasses. I broiled the sausages & then sliced them on a diagonal & added them to the apple & onion mixture for a couple of minutes to coat w/ the sauce. Very good! The flavor of the sauce w/ the sausages meshed together very well. Next time I will double the onions though because they were that good. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Delish! Both my husband and I loved it - kids wouldn't touch the onion/apple mixture but they ate the meat and liked it. I had to substitute red wine vinegar because I was out of cider vinegar but it was still good. One note: I used apples rather past their prime (waste not, want not and all that sort of thing!) and they turned to mush. It wasn't like applesauce but I think it would've been better texture-wise to have firmer apples. Oh and I used Beef Brats but next time I'll use the real ones - tasted a little like a hot dog! So this goes in the recipe box and I'll definitely make this again - with the right ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I too found this a very good dish but not out of this world. I think doubling the brown sugar and vinegar would be better. It was a nice change having the apples in there and the combination of flavours was good. I will definitely make this again. A nice autumn dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I thought this was a wonderful, easy recipe! I made it last night for dinner with some red apples I had gotten from the farmer’s market. I also used smoked sausage (halved and cut into links then browned in a skillet over medium heat). I used one large onion instead of the two medium onions the recipe called for. I also had apple cider vinegar on hand that I used in place of the apple cider/ red wine vinegar. It turned out perfect! I served it with the Oven Roasted Potatoes from this site and a nice dark beer. My husband was also pleased with the meal. I will definitely make this again throughout the fall season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I made this last night and WOW was it good!! My husband and daughter also really enjoyed it. I used Turkey Sausage (sweet italian style). My husband described it as "different"--in a good way. I used the cider vinegar. Thanks for sharing this recipe--we have 13 pounds of apples to eat after a trip to the orchard last weekend. There are only 3 of us here, so it's good to have different ways to use them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was good but not incredible. We enjoyed it though. The taste was fairly mild and I couldn't even taste the onions once I was done cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
At my first trial, I had visitors from S. Africa, and they, together with me, really enjoyed this dish. The only thing I changed was to increas the vinegar and sugar by half again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-98 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States