Grilled Salmon with Habanero-Lime Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
This was one of the most flavorful salmon dishes I have ever made. I followed the recipe almost exactly only substituting jalapenos for the habaneros. I will absolutely make this again! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I don't own a grill, so I just fried salmon steaks in a pre-heated pan; about 4 -5 minutes on each side. I also substituted some other pepper for the habenero because I couldn't find it in my market, and I really noticed a strong lack of spiciness. But even with these substitutions, the salmon was *delicious* and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
FUNominal! We're used to hot. Agree with cutting down on the butter. Either that, or put in on your fresh grilled Jersey corn! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was fantastic. Beware to watch the handling and amount of the habaneros. I ended up wasting a $40 piece of fresh caught alaskan salmon and miserably burning my fingers with the oils. The next batch I was much smarter. Sooo yummy I've now tried it on shrimp and got similar results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Very good! Be careful with the peppers...the oil stays on your skin. Use gloves! We used this recipe on a few types of fish with the key limes at our home. Turns out great...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This is now known as "Famous Fish" in my family - one of our all-time faves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
The salmon was very good. I didn't have any lime juice on hand so I substituted lemon and the result was delicious. I also used probably 3 Tbsp habanero pepper and a whole head of garlic because I like things spicy and garlicky. The result was surprisingly not overpowering. The butter was a bit much, as other reviewers noted. I only made 1/4 of the butter because my boyfriend doesn't use it, and 1/4 of the recipe was about 2x as much as I needed. If you like a lot of butter, don't alter the amount, but if you just like a small dab, 1/4 of the recipe is enough for 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRUDERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
The butter got a little too spicy for my husband, I liked it, though. I am not sure if we would make it again, but probably without the butter. Too much habanero took away from the flavor of the fish. I used Wild Alaskan salmon which is higher in fat than the farm raised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
My guests loved this recipe!!! I am a vegetarian, so I didn't eat it...however, my biggest suggestion (as my fingers burn as I type this) is to use disposable gloves to cut the habanero peppers. I washed my hands immediately and now many hours later, they are still burning...yipes! This is my first experience with habanero peppers...now I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This recipe is outstanding! Makes a beautiful dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States