Grilled Salmon Steaks with Savory Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
We thought this was a fantastic recipe. Please note: you must reduce the sauce once you've added the balsamic vinegar by letting it simmer. Otherwise it will taste like vinegar. Balsamic vinegar reduction has a wonderfully sweet and flavorful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
nice recipe the only problem is that you can't add cornstarch or any other thickening agent into a hot liquid it must be COLD! or other wise the starch molecules will cook on the outside before the inside hence the ole lump syndroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Delicious! I only had salmon filets which worked well. Baked them in the oven after brushing lightly with olive oil, squeezing on a bit of fresh lemon, and lightly dusting with seasoned salt, lemon pepper and dill. Didn't have any honey so I added about a tsp. of brown sugar to the sauce. Served with mashed red bliss potatoes and steamed asparagus. Extra bonus: The blueberry sauce was simply fabulous on the asparagus as well as the salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
this was delicious. my husband doesn't even like blueberries, but he loved this sauce. i didn't have any fresh orange juice so i substitued fresh lemon juice and added more honey. a chicken bouillion cube made the broth since i didn't have broth on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
We made this last night and I have to say that it was a total waste of time and money. If I could give less than one star I would. I followed this recipe without variations until I could do no more. The balsamic totally overpowered the berries. After doubling the OJ and honey it still was not improved. I added a whole tbs of sugar and a bit of vanilla to no avail. I don't know what purpose the chives served in this sauce. I couldn't taste any hint of them let alone see them etc. When my husband dropped the fish on the ground by accident I think that was sign from above to spare us this dish. We would have ate the fish without the sauce and I know I would have like that. Dinner was ruined with or without this sauce. We ended up having cheeseburgers. Factoring in the cost of that; this meal cost us in the neighborhood of $30 for the two of us to eat at home. I want my money back!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I did not like this at all, and I love salmon. Maybe that's why - I'm somewhat of a salmon purist, as I think it is such a flavorful fish it really doesn't need a sauce this strong. Also, I think the balsamic vinegar is way too strong in this. I won't make this again with salmon, but I may tweak the sauce and try it with something like pork or chicken. Too bad - I love the thought of using blueberries is something other than muffins/breads or dessert....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I thought this was fantastic. I had a bunch of blueberries that I needed to use and was so excited when I found this recipe. I reduced the balsamic first and that made a huge difference in the sauce not being too overpowering in the vinegar department. I had a big salmon fillet so I baked it in the oven with some butter and light seasoning and the sauce was absolutely delicious with it. Served with wild rice and green beans and both my husband and I loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erinlyn
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I found the balsamic vinegar's flavour did not complement the salmon; it was too overpowering and masked the flavour of the salmon. I reduced the amount of vinegar to 1/8 cup and it was still too much... In the future, I'll reduce it again and maybe add only 2-3 tbsp. Otherwise, the blueberries and OJ were a great match for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I didn't think that I would like this but it was good. And for all the "professional" cooks out there who don't know how to add cornstarch without it lumping....speaking as a beginner you can always add it to a little cold water and stir until well mixed then add it to the sauce. I've NEVER had it lump at all anytime I do that. But I AM just a beginner!! Great recipe, I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I used seasoned rice vinegar with basil and oregano, after reading that balsamic overwhelmed the salmon. One of the best dishes I have ever made. Serve with wild rice and a spinach salad with a few fresh blueberries. A glass of Pinto Grigio and a French Apple Tart for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Salmon I

A simple marinade makes grilled salmon fillets irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States