Grilled Salmon Steaks with Savory Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Delicious! I only had salmon filets which worked well. Baked them in the oven after brushing lightly with olive oil, squeezing on a bit of fresh lemon, and lightly dusting with seasoned salt, lemon pepper and dill. Didn't have any honey so I added about a tsp. of brown sugar to the sauce. Served with mashed red bliss potatoes and steamed asparagus. Extra bonus: The blueberry sauce was simply fabulous on the asparagus as well as the salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I did not like this at all, and I love salmon. Maybe that's why - I'm somewhat of a salmon purist, as I think it is such a flavorful fish it really doesn't need a sauce this strong. Also, I think the balsamic vinegar is way too strong in this. I won't make this again with salmon, but I may tweak the sauce and try it with something like pork or chicken. Too bad - I love the thought of using blueberries is something other than muffins/breads or dessert....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
maybe it was my fault..the sauce came out terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brutsman's box

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
we loved this sauce including a preschooler- easy and looks fancy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Interesting combination. I love both but I am still undecided on the recipe. I added some lemon juice for a bit of tang. My boyfriend (who picked this recipe out) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erinlyn
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I found the balsamic vinegar's flavour did not complement the salmon; it was too overpowering and masked the flavour of the salmon. I reduced the amount of vinegar to 1/8 cup and it was still too much... In the future, I'll reduce it again and maybe add only 2-3 tbsp. Otherwise, the blueberries and OJ were a great match for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
What a treat on wild Oregon salmon. My husband (who caught the fish) turned up his nose when I explained the sauce. He ate it up when I served it. It is delicate and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
this was delicious. my husband doesn't even like blueberries, but he loved this sauce. i didn't have any fresh orange juice so i substitued fresh lemon juice and added more honey. a chicken bouillion cube made the broth since i didn't have broth on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Tasty. But I think I'll reduce the vinegar by half next time or maybe substitute some red wine for it. I also added about a tablespoon of sugar to sweeten it just a little more. It looks gorgeous when drizzled over the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
nice recipe the only problem is that you can't add cornstarch or any other thickening agent into a hot liquid it must be COLD! or other wise the starch molecules will cook on the outside before the inside hence the ole lump syndroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Salmon I

A simple marinade makes grilled salmon fillets irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States