Grilled Salmon Steaks with Savory Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Delicious! I only had salmon filets which worked well. Baked them in the oven after brushing lightly with olive oil, squeezing on a bit of fresh lemon, and lightly dusting with seasoned salt, lemon pepper and dill. Didn't have any honey so I added about a tsp. of brown sugar to the sauce. Served with mashed red bliss potatoes and steamed asparagus. Extra bonus: The blueberry sauce was simply fabulous on the asparagus as well as the salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I did not like this at all, and I love salmon. Maybe that's why - I'm somewhat of a salmon purist, as I think it is such a flavorful fish it really doesn't need a sauce this strong. Also, I think the balsamic vinegar is way too strong in this. I won't make this again with salmon, but I may tweak the sauce and try it with something like pork or chicken. Too bad - I love the thought of using blueberries is something other than muffins/breads or dessert....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
maybe it was my fault..the sauce came out terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brutsman's box

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
we loved this sauce including a preschooler- easy and looks fancy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Interesting combination. I love both but I am still undecided on the recipe. I added some lemon juice for a bit of tang. My boyfriend (who picked this recipe out) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erinlyn
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I found the balsamic vinegar's flavour did not complement the salmon; it was too overpowering and masked the flavour of the salmon. I reduced the amount of vinegar to 1/8 cup and it was still too much... In the future, I'll reduce it again and maybe add only 2-3 tbsp. Otherwise, the blueberries and OJ were a great match for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
What a treat on wild Oregon salmon. My husband (who caught the fish) turned up his nose when I explained the sauce. He ate it up when I served it. It is delicate and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
this was delicious. my husband doesn't even like blueberries, but he loved this sauce. i didn't have any fresh orange juice so i substitued fresh lemon juice and added more honey. a chicken bouillion cube made the broth since i didn't have broth on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Tasty. But I think I'll reduce the vinegar by half next time or maybe substitute some red wine for it. I also added about a tablespoon of sugar to sweeten it just a little more. It looks gorgeous when drizzled over the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
nice recipe the only problem is that you can't add cornstarch or any other thickening agent into a hot liquid it must be COLD! or other wise the starch molecules will cook on the outside before the inside hence the ole lump syndroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States