Grilled Salmon Steaks with Savory Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My husband and I thought this recipe was delicious. I made the sauce according to the directions, the only thing I changed was the balsamic vinegar. I didn't have any and I substituted the exact amount of red wine vinegar. I served it with rice and some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I didn't think that I would like this but it was good. And for all the "professional" cooks out there who don't know how to add cornstarch without it lumping....speaking as a beginner you can always add it to a little cold water and stir until well mixed then add it to the sauce. I've NEVER had it lump at all anytime I do that. But I AM just a beginner!! Great recipe, I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Very nice but I would use less vinegar next time. We only had cranberries available and used them, turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This is for fingers. Follow the recipe directions, as written, and this will thicken just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
nice recipe the only problem is that you can't add cornstarch or any other thickening agent into a hot liquid it must be COLD! or other wise the starch molecules will cook on the outside before the inside hence the ole lump syndroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Tasty. But I think I'll reduce the vinegar by half next time or maybe substitute some red wine for it. I also added about a tablespoon of sugar to sweeten it just a little more. It looks gorgeous when drizzled over the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
this was delicious. my husband doesn't even like blueberries, but he loved this sauce. i didn't have any fresh orange juice so i substitued fresh lemon juice and added more honey. a chicken bouillion cube made the broth since i didn't have broth on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
What a treat on wild Oregon salmon. My husband (who caught the fish) turned up his nose when I explained the sauce. He ate it up when I served it. It is delicate and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erinlyn
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I found the balsamic vinegar's flavour did not complement the salmon; it was too overpowering and masked the flavour of the salmon. I reduced the amount of vinegar to 1/8 cup and it was still too much... In the future, I'll reduce it again and maybe add only 2-3 tbsp. Otherwise, the blueberries and OJ were a great match for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Interesting combination. I love both but I am still undecided on the recipe. I added some lemon juice for a bit of tang. My boyfriend (who picked this recipe out) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States