Grilled Salmon Steaks with Savory Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My husband and I thought this recipe was delicious. I made the sauce according to the directions, the only thing I changed was the balsamic vinegar. I didn't have any and I substituted the exact amount of red wine vinegar. I served it with rice and some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I didn't think that I would like this but it was good. And for all the "professional" cooks out there who don't know how to add cornstarch without it lumping....speaking as a beginner you can always add it to a little cold water and stir until well mixed then add it to the sauce. I've NEVER had it lump at all anytime I do that. But I AM just a beginner!! Great recipe, I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Very nice but I would use less vinegar next time. We only had cranberries available and used them, turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This is for fingers. Follow the recipe directions, as written, and this will thicken just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
nice recipe the only problem is that you can't add cornstarch or any other thickening agent into a hot liquid it must be COLD! or other wise the starch molecules will cook on the outside before the inside hence the ole lump syndroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Tasty. But I think I'll reduce the vinegar by half next time or maybe substitute some red wine for it. I also added about a tablespoon of sugar to sweeten it just a little more. It looks gorgeous when drizzled over the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
this was delicious. my husband doesn't even like blueberries, but he loved this sauce. i didn't have any fresh orange juice so i substitued fresh lemon juice and added more honey. a chicken bouillion cube made the broth since i didn't have broth on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
What a treat on wild Oregon salmon. My husband (who caught the fish) turned up his nose when I explained the sauce. He ate it up when I served it. It is delicate and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erinlyn
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I found the balsamic vinegar's flavour did not complement the salmon; it was too overpowering and masked the flavour of the salmon. I reduced the amount of vinegar to 1/8 cup and it was still too much... In the future, I'll reduce it again and maybe add only 2-3 tbsp. Otherwise, the blueberries and OJ were a great match for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Interesting combination. I love both but I am still undecided on the recipe. I added some lemon juice for a bit of tang. My boyfriend (who picked this recipe out) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States