Grilled Salmon Steaks with Savory Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I used seasoned rice vinegar with basil and oregano, after reading that balsamic overwhelmed the salmon. One of the best dishes I have ever made. Serve with wild rice and a spinach salad with a few fresh blueberries. A glass of Pinto Grigio and a French Apple Tart for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I LOVED this and I don't even like salmon that much. I served it with steamed broccoli. I poured the blueberry sauce over the fish AND the broccoli. I didn't have to use butter/oil, etc. to season the broccoli. A very healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Wonderful, 'though I did halve the balsamic vinegar and add a teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
A very nice change for salmon. I added 1/2 jar of blueberry all fruit preserves to thicken the sauce up and to soften the vinegar/orange taste. The sauce seems to mature a little in the refrigerator so you might want to make it ahead of time then warm it up before serving. I poured the left over sauce over pork chops and brown rice the following evening and got raving reviews from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very easy, and a huge hit even with the boyfriend who thought that blueberries would be WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Made a couple changes due to lack of exact ingredients. Exchanged cranberry juice for orange and maple syrup for honey. Brushed a bit of sauce on the salmon while grilling. Quite good. Kids and husband were pleased. Seved with basmati rice and steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I made this recipe last night and thought it was just "okay". I don't think I'll make it again. For the person who said you can't add thickening agents to hot foods, you are correct, and that is WHY this recipe clearly requested that you mix the corn starch with 1/4 cup of chicken stock that had not yet been heated and then combine it with your hot liquid. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe surprised me. I really liked the sauce, and I usually don't like fruit based sauces. It had just enough tang to balance the sweetness and the honey did't overpower the taste of the blueberries. We had wild rice and chard with goat cheese and the combo was really fantastic. Even my husband enjoyed it and he isn't a salmon fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I was happy to find this recipe since I was thinking about trying to make something with both salmon and blueberries. I followed the recipe except substituted chopped green onions for the chives. I felt the sauce complimented the salmon very nicely and was glad I decided to use the green onions in leu of not having chives, for it also gives the recipe that extra "something". I prepared this meal for another couple who told me they did not ever think that salmon would go so well with blueberries. I think that when making this recipe it is important to have quality blueberries and salmon and to make sure you do not overcook the salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Following everyone's suggestions, I used only 2 tbsp balsamic. At that amount, I thought it balanced the blueberries fine. Overall, the taste was unusual, which I appreciated, but still not necessarily something I would want to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Salmon I

A simple marinade makes grilled salmon fillets irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States