Grilled Salmon Steaks with Savory Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Tried the recipe using 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar. Overall satisfactory, nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Please consider simply grilling a nice piece of salmon with simple salt, pepper, lemon and olive oil over this recipe. It really overpowers the salmon flavor. The sauce is just not interesting enough to justify replacing the salmon flavor. No one in the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great recipe!!! I did it for my GF and she loved it, the only thing is that I lasted too long doing the sauce, but I don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was very good. I did cook the balsamic vinegar, 1/2 cup of chicken stock, orange juice and honey for about 10-13 min. before adding the remaining chicken stock and cornstarch mixture( cold stock). If you don't cook this down the sauce will have a very strong vinegar taste. I decreased the chives to 1tsp. and added a heaping tsp. of brown sugar when I added the cornstarch. I simmered the sauce with the blueberries for about 5 min. and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geri Lynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
After reading a good portion of the reviews, I decided to try this recipe because I was having a party and wanted to serve salmon. I listened to another reviewer and reduced the balsamic vinegar which was a very good idea! The sauce was thick, but I just let it simmer a little longer to let the blueberry color really set in (it was really brown). I also had never fired up and cooked on a grill before, so that was really exciting. However, I think maybe I didn't brush enough oil onto the steaks because it was sticking to the grill. Oh well! My salmon turned out wonderful and moist and flaky. I tried it with some of the blueberry sauce warm, and while it was very tasty, if it cooled too much and got thick the combination of textures was just kind of odd. So I would say to eat this dish hot. I didn't give this a full 5 stars because while I appreciated all the ingredients in it and its uniqueness, it wasn't anything super exciting I would go out telling everyone to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as described and it was great. My husband loved it. We used blueberries that we picked ourselves over the summer and stored in the freezer for about 6 months. I will definitely cook this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisyr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! I added honey, lemon and lemon pepper seasoning to the salmon before grilling them in the oven. I also added a little more honey to the sauce for fear of the balsamic vinegar overpowering everything. I actually mashed a few of the blueberries in the sauce as soon as I poured them in as well. It was perfect! In the top five of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I prepared this dish exactly as the instructions set out, and found that it the flavour of vinegar was overwhelming. I had to add several cups of brown sugar to dilute it. Some other reviews suggest reducing the vinegar before serving. It would have helped salvage this dish. Entirely, not terrible, but I don't think I'll try it again. The salmon was grilled perfectly, but I'll take the credit for that. I suggest if you do try this one, serve the sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Awesome! Used apricot preserves instead of OJ-very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I thought this was fantastic. I had a bunch of blueberries that I needed to use and was so excited when I found this recipe. I reduced the balsamic first and that made a huge difference in the sauce not being too overpowering in the vinegar department. I had a big salmon fillet so I baked it in the oven with some butter and light seasoning and the sauce was absolutely delicious with it. Served with wild rice and green beans and both my husband and I loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States