Grilled Romaine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious, great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Wow. I had only grilled one head for 5 of us. That went sooo fast I immediately had to make 2 additional heads! I used montreal chicken seasoning, added crushed cheese and garlic croutons and parm cheese and it was amazing! Already had a request to have this again with dinner tonight! Thank you for making me look like a star! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I had heard of this technique once and was intrigued. It certainly was easy, though I don't think I put enough of the seasoning on since I could barely taste it. Also, I was making it for four and almost bought the recommended 2 heads of romaine, but thought better of it. Used only one and that was more than plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I didn't use the lemon juice, but substituted white balsamic vinegar. As others suggested, I used Montreal Steak Seasoning. I think it would be great with freshly grated Parmesan too! Great way to use up Romaine! Very easy and delicious. I made it with steak and baked potatoes. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I've made this a number of times. I use Italian dressing brushed on before grilling. I fry up some bacon real crisp and dice up some tomatoes or halve cherry or grape tomatoes and saute them in the bacon grease. When the lettuce is done, throw the bacon and tomato on the top. Drizzle a little more Italian dressing over the top and it's a BLT grilled salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I've always wanted to try grilled lettuce and I was blown away by how much flavor this had! It's still got some crunch to it and it's got great smokey flavor. YUM YUM!! The lemon at the end really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Left off the lemon juice, but it was still amazing, especially the charred edges. Next time I'll cook it a bit on the other side, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Brushed olive oil on both sides with pastry brush. Added Montreal Steak Seasoning and as others suggested grated parmesan cheese. Grilled for 3 minutes per side at med- hot temp. Finished with fresh lemon juice. DELISH!! Will make again.Thanks for recipe! UPDATE~ Try crushing garlic croutons on top after grilling. Gives a really nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Serve with steak and blue cheese dressing! Heaven! We used a medium high temp on the grill. Easy and loved the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Outstanding! Made this for my wife on Valentine's Day 2013 and she flipped over it! I used a mustard vinegrette dressing and omitted the steak seasoning for just salt and pepper. Nice change from the everyday salad. A party in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States