Grilled Romaine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This is the 3rd time I have made this recipe and loved all 3 times. I also chopped up some and created a Cesar style salad. Add tomatoes, cucumbers and a little parsley. used a dressing from the ar site. Will be making again but will not cut the end off the romaine lettuce until after it has been BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this on the 4th of July and it was out of this world! So simple and delicious, I can't wait for warmer weather to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is a Great salad if you want something different. I use three types of flavors of vinegar's one in the middle and a different flavor on each end. Fresh bacon bits don't hurt either. Don't tell your guests about the flavors and watch their eyes when they taste it. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Grilled-Hearts-of-Romaine/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=grilled%20romaine%20hearts&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe&soid=sr_results_p1i1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Singer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious, great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Wow. I had only grilled one head for 5 of us. That went sooo fast I immediately had to make 2 additional heads! I used montreal chicken seasoning, added crushed cheese and garlic croutons and parm cheese and it was amazing! Already had a request to have this again with dinner tonight! Thank you for making me look like a star! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I had heard of this technique once and was intrigued. It certainly was easy, though I don't think I put enough of the seasoning on since I could barely taste it. Also, I was making it for four and almost bought the recommended 2 heads of romaine, but thought better of it. Used only one and that was more than plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I didn't use the lemon juice, but substituted white balsamic vinegar. As others suggested, I used Montreal Steak Seasoning. I think it would be great with freshly grated Parmesan too! Great way to use up Romaine! Very easy and delicious. I made it with steak and baked potatoes. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I've made this a number of times. I use Italian dressing brushed on before grilling. I fry up some bacon real crisp and dice up some tomatoes or halve cherry or grape tomatoes and saute them in the bacon grease. When the lettuce is done, throw the bacon and tomato on the top. Drizzle a little more Italian dressing over the top and it's a BLT grilled salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi_M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I've always wanted to try grilled lettuce and I was blown away by how much flavor this had! It's still got some crunch to it and it's got great smokey flavor. YUM YUM!! The lemon at the end really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Left off the lemon juice, but it was still amazing, especially the charred edges. Next time I'll cook it a bit on the other side, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States