Grilled Radishes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Okay, I admit it. I don't like radishes. In fact, when my produce delivery service delivered these this week I cringed inwardly. BUT I'd only had them raw on a salad so off I went looking for a way to cook them... and found... THIS. I was amazed.. I like radishes now :) The garlic is just great... yum! Even my veggie-scared husband liked them! The only thing I did differently is that I didn't have time to do the grill packet thing, so I pan-grilled/fried them on the stove. I give it a 4 only because my son didn't like it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I wasn't sure about cooked radishes and thought I'd give this a try. I was dissapointed and would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I can't believe in all my years of cooking I never thought to cook radishes. These are fabulous! If you like cooked cabbage, you'll love these. If you don't, this may not win you over. Like cabbage, radishes have a peppery bite to them, and it's pretty strong in those little red spheres. But it practically disappears when they're cooked. I've made this dish twice and here's my changes: halved the butter, halved the garlic (or else you'll miss out on the almost-sweetness that develops) and added about one tsp chicken boullion powder ('cause I like cabbage cooked in chicken broth). Additionally, I cooked them on the stove on low in a covered skillet, stirring occasionally. Also, I found that no additional salt or pepper was needed. Hubby thought they were "just OK" and 6-yr-old wouldn't even look at them, but I know I'll be making these all the time. How ideal that I can make just enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Pretty good. I'm giving this a four only because I didn't grill the radishes and it should be rated as the recipe states. Otherwise it would be a three and a half because I sauteed the vegies in a pan instead. No rave reviews from four out of five people, however, our daughter Ashley loved them! Hubby and I are crazy about radishes in the raw and I guess we just missed the bite they give off when not cooked. I have to say, I had no idea that radishes had any natural sugar. Much like onions, they become so amazingly sweet. If you're not a radish fan, I suggest trying this as you'll probably be pleasantly surprised. My "Ash-b-gash" thanks you "Librarylady" for a side she truly enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These were a bit weird. They really don't taste like radishes, although it's hard to say what they *do* taste like... Slightly cauliflower-y? Husband didn't like them at all. I ate a few and kind of enjoyed them, but I only finished about half my serving. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My wife and I won't eat radishes usually, but we love this recipe! Now the only question is whether there's any nutrition left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I thought these were terrible... I read reviews saying they would taste a bit like cabbage, and I LOVE cabbage. But no, they don't really taste like anything... Wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I'm amazed that such a simple recipe is SOOOO good! I did not have bbq materials on hand, so I sauted it. Instead of butter, I used "I can't believe it's not butter" spray. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Makes radishes much milder. It's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
A good way to use an excess of radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States