Grilled Prawns with a Spicy Peanut-Lime Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was the BEST peanut sauce I have tried and it complimented the shrimp (and I added chicken as well) perfectly. My family was over and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This sauce tastes very similar to one I've made for a Mongolian hot pot dinner, but turned out significantly thinner, which led me to use a tsp. of cornstarch and water to quickly thicken it a touch. The flavor is actually so impeccable that making the marinade isn't really necessary, so I'll definitely be skipping that step next time around. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I didnt marinate the shrimp. I grilled them with salt and fresh ground pepper. The sauce was enough to make you want to slap someone. We added cornstarch to thicken it up a bit, but it was really awesome. Just the right spice, balanced by the peanut butter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly, except for leaving the prawns in the marinade for about an hour and a half (unexpected store run). Excellent! I'm thrilled that I have leftover vinaigrette for steak salad this week. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made the shrimp in the marinade as written but decided I didn't want to use the sauce just for dipping so I added 2 tablespoons of coconut milk to it and served it over rice noodles instead. This was just an outstanding meal, thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
pretty good ,a little too much vinager for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is very, very good. I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only thing I changed was adding coconut oil instead of peanut oil in the sauce (which is healthier and added a very subtle coconut flavor to the already delicious sauce). The sauce is a little runnier than most peanut sauces I'm used to- it's definitely more of a vinaigrette, I added a couple tsps of cornstarch and still found it a little runny- delicious over rice though! There is a pile of sauce left over... if you're just dipping the shrimp, you could probably get away with halving it.. A couple of people have mentioned skipping the marinade... do NOT do this! The marinade is absolutely delicious with flavors of lemongrass, garlic and ginger... I marinated mine about 45 mins, and didn't wipe the chunks off the shrimp before grilling. My bf thought the shrimp was delicious and ate it on its own... I thought it complemented the flavors in the sauce wonderfully. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
It is a pity, but this recipe didn`t work for me. The marinade was great, so spicy and delicious. I will use it for grilled shrimp. But I didn`t care for the peanut butter sauce. I didn`t have mirin and used white wine with sugar instead (a suggestion from one cooking site), maybe it was a wrong way, but this sauce had a "sweet and sour thing" I didn`t like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States