Grilled Portobellos Sauteed in Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Mushroom lovers, try this recipe. To the reviewer who needed to add cornstarch to the "sauce," note that the recipe states to let the wine "nearly evaporate." No sauce with this dish. I rubbed olive oil into the mushrooms (both sides) prior to grilling. I didn't have shallots onhand so used half a large vidalia onion and added garlic, like other reviewers. Paired nicely with grilled Steelhead Trout from this site. Thanks RCOWGILL !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used white wine and garlic instead of shallot. Added some cornstarch because the sauce was too watery for us. It was easy, impressive side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I LOVE mushrooms and I LOVE this recipe! This is a great recipe for those mushroom lovers out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
My husband has been making something like this for a while now. He always uses red wine (since we're grilling steaks), wht. sliced mushrooms, sometimes more or less Worcestershire, sometimes more or less A-1, garlic, butter, always red wine. Even when we use a spoiled red wine, it has never tasted vinegar-like. I can't wait to try this with shallots! You really can't miss w/a saute of wine, butter, shallots, garlic, and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
A delicious dish that is not too difficult. For a great vegetarian sandwich, serve open-faced on toasted rosemary foccaccia spread with dijonnaise. Sprinkle with chopped fresh parsley. For the reviewer who ended up with venegar tasting mushrooms, your wine must have been off. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Green Jeanne
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I've been making this for quite some time and had to rate it since it's far too underrated for its category. This is definitely the side to use if you're trying to impress. Words cannot describe it's goodness. If you like mushrooms, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
WE LIKED HOW THEY COOKED UP ON THE GRILL, BUT EVEN WITH A NEW BOTTLE OF WINE, WHEN IT COOKED DOWN IT TASTED LIKE VINEGAR (WHICH MY BOYFRIEND HATES). I WOULD MAKE, BUT WITH LESS WINE NEXT TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Recipe gave great flavor to the mushrooms. I now use this recipe whenever I want mushrooms as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
So delicious! I used onions and garlic instead of shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I loved it - but my boyfriend wasn't as big of a fan even though he loves portobello mushrooms. If you like the taste of wine, I recommend trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Coconut and Lime Grilled Kale

Coconut and lime marinated kale cooked on a grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States