Grilled Portobello with Basil Mayonnaise Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Quick, easy and oh so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
DEEEEELICIOUS! The basil mayo makes this sandwich, and just puts it over the top. I used sliced portobello mushrooms because that's all the store had this week. I marinated them in the basalmic mixture for about an hour before cooking and they had a wonderful flavor. I did decrease the olive oil to about 2 tbsps. because I was trying to watch the fat and I used light mayo in the basil mayo with great results. This is a definate keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe several times already this summer, and it is delicious! The only change I made was not buttering the buns, and toasting them on the grill. The mayo combo is so good, I use it on other veggie sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
My family loved this recipe. The dressing is so good and really makes the sandwich tasty. I wanted to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Scrumptious! I enjoyed mine exactly as the recipe was written; my husband and kids wanted to put some cheese on their mushrooms as they were grilling (Swiss). High fives all around ... we will absolutely make again. Thank you for the recipe! Edit here ... I should have added that I did marinate the mushrooms for a couple of hours before grilling. I think that helped a lot, an will deflinitely do it again next time, too, for sure. Enjoy, enjoy everyone ... this recipe is a winner. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Excellent- tastes a lot like grilled steak. The marinade is very versatile for grilled meats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I love the basil mayo and the portobello tasted better than a regular burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Sauce was very good. I used a little less vinegar in the marinade and added some sea salt and ground pepper. Topped mushroom with mozzarella and red onion and tomato. It is amazing how much this sandwich fills you up. Could eat these all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Absolutley loved this one! I bought 2 huge portobello mushrooms to grill. The basil mayo rocks out....I used low fat mayo and fresh lemon juice and fresh basil....which I always think is key to get the best flavors....I served on a whole wheat sandwich thin (Arnold brand). Nice summer dinner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Excellent and fast! I put basil leaves on the sandwich rather than chopping for the mayo. Also added garlic salt and fresh mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States