Grilled Portobello with Basil Mayonnaise Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious! Very satisfying on a hot summer night. The only changes I made were 1) to marinade the mushrooms in the vinegar/oil/garlic for 2 hours instead of just brushing it on before grilling. The mushrooms were very flavorful that way, and 2) to add a slight amount of cheese (pick your favorite) onto the mushrooms just before taking off the grill. I loved the mayo, and will look for other ways to use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was very good and easy. I also grilled some zucchini and squash and served with it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Excellent- tastes a lot like grilled steak. The marinade is very versatile for grilled meats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
My husband and I just discovered the beauty that is the portobello when he ordered it at a restaurant a few months ago. I made this tonight (scaled down for two people), and we both loved it- especially the basil mayo- that really made the sandwich! The only thing I'll do different next time is to use less balsamic vinegar when marinating the mushrooms. While we both love balsamic, we thought the flavor was a bit too overpowering. Great recipe though, thanks! I'm sure I'll make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Scrumptious! I enjoyed mine exactly as the recipe was written; my husband and kids wanted to put some cheese on their mushrooms as they were grilling (Swiss). High fives all around ... we will absolutely make again. Thank you for the recipe! Edit here ... I should have added that I did marinate the mushrooms for a couple of hours before grilling. I think that helped a lot, an will deflinitely do it again next time, too, for sure. Enjoy, enjoy everyone ... this recipe is a winner. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
My family loved this recipe. The dressing is so good and really makes the sandwich tasty. I wanted to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe several times already this summer, and it is delicious! The only change I made was not buttering the buns, and toasting them on the grill. The mayo combo is so good, I use it on other veggie sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
DEEEEELICIOUS! The basil mayo makes this sandwich, and just puts it over the top. I used sliced portobello mushrooms because that's all the store had this week. I marinated them in the basalmic mixture for about an hour before cooking and they had a wonderful flavor. I did decrease the olive oil to about 2 tbsps. because I was trying to watch the fat and I used light mayo in the basil mayo with great results. This is a definate keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Quick, easy and oh so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States