Grilled Portobello with Basil Mayonnaise Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
the sauce...mayo/basil/lemon was nice, everyone liked the sauce however the balsalmic vinegar did not go over. I've had much better portabello's and this wasn't one. I'd ditch the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wow. I almost didn't make the mayo as I don't typically put mayo on my burgers, but I think this added to perfection! I made a lot more marinade mix than the recipe called for to help coat the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I did not change any of the ingredients and it was delicious. I will definitely make again. I had never grilled a portabella before so checked on line and most articles said to peal the top skin off. It came off so easy. Since it was so large, I grilled each side 7 minutes and it was perfect. I put the marinade on a half hour before grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I sized this down for two so it may have adjusted the taste. But i thought this was wonderful. The mushroom was juicy and the may was a perfect complement. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! The balsamic/olive oil marinade on the portobellos is something I've done before and loved; but as absolutely simple as the basil mayo is, that is what takes this over the top. I added a slice of pepperjack and skipped buttering the buns. Will make again and again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Amazing! Could rival any burger I have ever eaten! Did sub the dijon/mayo combo for a garlic mayo with parsley. So good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Excellent and fast! I put basil leaves on the sandwich rather than chopping for the mayo. Also added garlic salt and fresh mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Absolutley loved this one! I bought 2 huge portobello mushrooms to grill. The basil mayo rocks out....I used low fat mayo and fresh lemon juice and fresh basil....which I always think is key to get the best flavors....I served on a whole wheat sandwich thin (Arnold brand). Nice summer dinner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Sauce was very good. I used a little less vinegar in the marinade and added some sea salt and ground pepper. Topped mushroom with mozzarella and red onion and tomato. It is amazing how much this sandwich fills you up. Could eat these all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Next time I'll add more basil to the mayo mixture since I thought the basil flavor was really light. Easy to make and quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States