Grilled Portobello with Basil Mayonnaise Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I sized this down for two so it may have adjusted the taste. But i thought this was wonderful. The mushroom was juicy and the may was a perfect complement. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! The balsamic/olive oil marinade on the portobellos is something I've done before and loved; but as absolutely simple as the basil mayo is, that is what takes this over the top. I added a slice of pepperjack and skipped buttering the buns. Will make again and again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Amazing! Could rival any burger I have ever eaten! Did sub the dijon/mayo combo for a garlic mayo with parsley. So good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Excellent and fast! I put basil leaves on the sandwich rather than chopping for the mayo. Also added garlic salt and fresh mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Absolutley loved this one! I bought 2 huge portobello mushrooms to grill. The basil mayo rocks out....I used low fat mayo and fresh lemon juice and fresh basil....which I always think is key to get the best flavors....I served on a whole wheat sandwich thin (Arnold brand). Nice summer dinner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Sauce was very good. I used a little less vinegar in the marinade and added some sea salt and ground pepper. Topped mushroom with mozzarella and red onion and tomato. It is amazing how much this sandwich fills you up. Could eat these all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Next time I'll add more basil to the mayo mixture since I thought the basil flavor was really light. Easy to make and quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Fantastic! I don't have a grill so I sauteed the mushrooms. It's a bit more messy but gets the job done. I also put this on homemade bread that I made in my bread machine and it was even better than the first time I made this recipe. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
SO good and SO easy!! I made this Saturday, and I liked it so much I am making it again tonight! I took the advice of some other reviewers and marinated mine for about three hours. The basil mayo is what really makes this five stars. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Wow, so good! I added a bit of minced garlic to the mayo mixture, skipped grilling the buns and subbed roasted red peppers and mozzarella for the lettuce and tomato. Couldn't believe what a quick and delicious meal this was - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States