Grilled Portobello with Basil Mayonnaise Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe several times already this summer, and it is delicious! The only change I made was not buttering the buns, and toasting them on the grill. The mayo combo is so good, I use it on other veggie sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
DEEEEELICIOUS! The basil mayo makes this sandwich, and just puts it over the top. I used sliced portobello mushrooms because that's all the store had this week. I marinated them in the basalmic mixture for about an hour before cooking and they had a wonderful flavor. I did decrease the olive oil to about 2 tbsps. because I was trying to watch the fat and I used light mayo in the basil mayo with great results. This is a definate keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious! Very satisfying on a hot summer night. The only changes I made were 1) to marinade the mushrooms in the vinegar/oil/garlic for 2 hours instead of just brushing it on before grilling. The mushrooms were very flavorful that way, and 2) to add a slight amount of cheese (pick your favorite) onto the mushrooms just before taking off the grill. I loved the mayo, and will look for other ways to use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
The best portobello sandwich I ever had! I served it on artisan bread, warm from the grill. I made bruschetta with the leftover bread and basil, but used that as the bun for my leftover portobellos. So it became a bruschetta portobello burger- heaven! This is a new summer grilling staple at our place. My three year old loved it, but he's an adventurous eater- as for my husband, he's a corn dog man, so this didn't exactly fly for him. But those with a love for gourmet will find this to be kickin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Scrumptious! I enjoyed mine exactly as the recipe was written; my husband and kids wanted to put some cheese on their mushrooms as they were grilling (Swiss). High fives all around ... we will absolutely make again. Thank you for the recipe! Edit here ... I should have added that I did marinate the mushrooms for a couple of hours before grilling. I think that helped a lot, an will deflinitely do it again next time, too, for sure. Enjoy, enjoy everyone ... this recipe is a winner. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
WOW - these are fabulous! I love portobello mushrooms, so I had to give this a try. Plus they're so easy to put together. It's great for lunch or a quick weeknight meal. I would recommend marinating the mushrooms for a couple of hours vs. a few minutes. Don't skip the basil mayo, it's awesome! I used Hellman's light mayo and toasted some sesame seed rolls then added a slice of provolone along with the rest of the ingredients. These are so good, you'll never miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great recipe! First time we made it we accidentally mixed all ingredients together and cooked the mushrooms in all of it instead of having the mayo mix on its own. They were actually better this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I thought this was a great "burger"! I have always loved portobello sandwiches and this was no different. It was very easy to make, especially the smaller portobellos. I'm not sure how to tell when the mushroom, especially the big ones, are fully cooked, so I think some of the big, thick ones didn't turn out as well as the smaller ones. I would make these again, but I think next time I'll also marinate some red onions in the same sauce and throw them on the "burger".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was easy, and delicious. I've made it twice, exactly as written - no changes. I toyed with the idea of adding a slice of melty cheese, but haven't yet. I like the idea of a mostly vegan meal as I am exploring more meat-free dishes. Really though, you almost think you are eating a savory piece of meat in this sandwich! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! The balsamic/olive oil marinade on the portobellos is something I've done before and loved; but as absolutely simple as the basil mayo is, that is what takes this over the top. I added a slice of pepperjack and skipped buttering the buns. Will make again and again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States