Grilled Portobello with Basil Mayonnaise Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious! I didn't use butter because the oil and mayo were more than enough. I also did as others said and marinated the mushrooms for a few hours, along with peppers and onions. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was delicious..did not miss the meat at all. I made the recipe exactly as written but will add some swiss or provolone cheese next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was THE BEST! I loved every bite, and was actually sad when I was done eating! I will be making this again, and again! Thank you for an awesome recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ashland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This sounded SO good. I think I should have read the other reviews first. I think the Portobello's should defiantly marinate. I did not marinate them and there wasn't enough flavor. But the Basil Mayo is FANTASTIC! I put a little black pepper in it and it was that much better. I am going to find different ways to use it (YUMMY). I am going to try this recipe again but next time I am going to try slicing the Portobellos and marinating them a lot longer so they soak up the marinade. Plus I think adding a little salt to the marinade would really bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
WOW - these are fabulous! I love portobello mushrooms, so I had to give this a try. Plus they're so easy to put together. It's great for lunch or a quick weeknight meal. I would recommend marinating the mushrooms for a couple of hours vs. a few minutes. Don't skip the basil mayo, it's awesome! I used Hellman's light mayo and toasted some sesame seed rolls then added a slice of provolone along with the rest of the ingredients. These are so good, you'll never miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
8-15-11: Ann said this was excellent, even though I undercooked them and had to put them back on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
One word: WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was easy, and delicious. I've made it twice, exactly as written - no changes. I toyed with the idea of adding a slice of melty cheese, but haven't yet. I like the idea of a mostly vegan meal as I am exploring more meat-free dishes. Really though, you almost think you are eating a savory piece of meat in this sandwich! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I've made portobello sandwiches for years and have to admit the basil mayo really puts a twist in them. Am definitely keeping this as my new favorite way to serve them. I didn't have any buns so used crusty Italian bread that I brushed with olive oil and toasted on the grill for a few minutes. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious! I jut made this for my husband who thinks there should be meat in every meal. This changed his mind and will now be on our weekly menu! Meat will not be missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States