Grilled Portobello Sandwich with Roasted Red Pepper and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Used ciabatta rolls instead and toasted the bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I love mushrooms, so this was a real treat. I didn't have basil on hand, but used lettuce and tomato. I'd advise anyone making this to pat the mushrooms dry or risk having a wet bun. Overall, it was great for a mushroom lover...and I'd even eat it without the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
The star of this show is the meaty grilled mushroom and the roasted garlic mayo. Do not forget to get rid of the black gills...yucky, no flavor and colors up the sandwich.(use a spoon to gently scrape the inside of the mushroom) Fresh basil is genius. The sandwich needs a decent kaiser bun that does not overwhelm...and some beautiful tomatoes. And having made this several times, the sandwich gets cool too fast. So...wrap individual sandwiches in foil, bake 10 mins or so at 375 if you use a melting cheese like mozzarella, munster or brick. great. If not...then just before you serve, add fresh mozzarella, the tomato and fresh basil. People will want this before a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Fantastic! To the buffalo mozzarella, I added a dash of balsamic vinegar, and my wife, who can be skeptical, raved about it. Easy to make, and satisfying for when we want a hardy meal, but we are trying to reduce beef consumption.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
SUPER recipe. Made just as instructed.This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent! And its great to have as an option at your BBQ if one or more of your guests are vegetarian :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I dropped the red pepper for a tomato. Used some fresh baked ciabatta bread from Whole Foods. Can not believe how good this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
get largest mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Don't have a grill, so used a G. Foreman grill. (Wish more recipes would offer this as an alternative). Mixed fresh, crushed garlic w/olive oil, salt and pepper and brushed onions and jarred, roasted peppers and then grilled them. Did the same w/the mushroom. Love garlic, so added more to the mayo. Guldens mustard on the mushroom side; garlic mayo on the lettuce/tomato side. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is a wonderful meatless sandwich. Try omitting the tomato and basil, and use smoked mozzarella instead. It's heaven on bun. Next time I will make it as a panini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States