Grilled Portobello Sandwich with Roasted Red Pepper and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I combined the olive oil , several cloves of minced fresh garlic, salt and pepper together and brushed it onto the portobellos. I guess the above mixture was a brush-on marinade. I put the portobellos aside while I prepared the other ingredients and then broiled the cap side first for about 2 minutes and the gill side, stacked with roasted red peppers, basil, cheese and tomato for about 5 minutes. I served these with the allrecipes.com Burger or Hot Dog Buns and these sandwiches came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RiksterQT
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Unbelieveable! Restaurant quality. I roasted a yellow pepper (only thing I had) and used one side of an everything bagel (again, only thing I had) and it was unbelieveable!! Didn't change anything else! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Did some shopping yesterday and found some really nice portobello's and with nearly all other ingredients on hand, decided to give this recipe a try. I used thinly sliced red onion, a bit of garlic powder, forgot I was out of the fresh and tomatoes and basil out of my garden. The sandwiches were delicious and well seasoned. Very flavorful, easy, and a great substitute for a meatless meal. Adding this to our list of favorites. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very good recipe! I would use a very large pepper or at least two small ones since the one we used was a little too small and would triple up on the mayonnaise/garlic sauce since the teaspoons said to use in the receipe really doesn't make that much for the big mushroom caps so we made more to spread on both the bottom and the top buns for each sandwich. Everything else was perfect. Very flavorful! Thank you for sharing the recipe! Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Amazing! This recipe deserves its great reviews thats for sure. I grilled some onions and red bell peppers together and added some of the balsamic glaze. It was absolutely fantastic. For an extra kick try pepper jack cheese instead of provolone. :) thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Excellent....used vidalia onion that I grilled with the red peppers. Fresh basil is key and nice ripe tomatoes...I ate mine bunless for carb reasons...fork and knifed it...lol...I also omitted the mayo and used a drizzle of Honey Dijon Balsamic Vinaigrette from this site...amazing! Served with a tossed salad. Great meatless Monday meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent...I had this in a restaurant once and wanted to try it myself. I did mix some fresh minced garlic in the the oil to baste the mushrooms, and used pepperjack cheese. My husband was making noises while eating this that makes me know it is a keeper. Will be grilling this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was so delectable it convinced me to cook more vegetarian foods which is honestly something I never thought I'd hear myself say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great! Followed the recipe except for using jarred roasted red peppers because I didn't have any fresh to roast myself. Great fresh flavors. Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Don't have a grill, so used a G. Foreman grill. (Wish more recipes would offer this as an alternative). Mixed fresh, crushed garlic w/olive oil, salt and pepper and brushed onions and jarred, roasted peppers and then grilled them. Did the same w/the mushroom. Love garlic, so added more to the mayo. Guldens mustard on the mushroom side; garlic mayo on the lettuce/tomato side. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States