Grilled Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These turned out very good, but there was a lot of oil sitting on top of the mushroom. I drained it off several times while on the grill. Make sure you don't grill too long, they turn mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Extremely disappointing. The savory flavor of the mushroom is gone and the sweetness of the balsamic is overpowering (think: sugary mushrooms.) Onions are wasted as they impart no flavor. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
WOW! This was great1 I did cut the amount of vinegar down to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made these yesterday..they were awesome. I used 2 Tablespoons of Balsamic(Trader Joe's Gold Quality Balsamic Vinegar of Modena) and light olive oil instead of canola. Didn't have an onion so I used a shallot. It made enough marinade to put on 5 large mushrooms. I spooned it onto the gill side only and just rubbed olive oil on the smooth side. I let it soak in for @4 hours before I grilled them. I topped them with smoked provolone, home made roasted peppers and home made pesto and put them on a fresh kaiser roll. Friends said they were the best grilled mushroom sandwiches ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Just wonderful. I had no balsamic but subbed with lambrusco vinegar and only used about half called for in the recipe--we don't like too much zing. Hubs never cooked a portobello before today, he put them on a grill rack and let cook about ten minutes, a very big one needed a few minutes more, very easy to grill and excellent for beginner or experienced chefs. Family raved about the favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I like this recipe a lot. Another reviewer mentioned (indygirl915)that it had too much vinegar. I agree. I use 4 teaspoons of vinegar instead of 4 tablespoons. It is confusing that the oil is measured in 1/4 cup but the vinegar is measured in 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I agree with a few others that there was too much vinegar in the marinate. Other than that it was good and we will try it again. I did add some Parmesan cheese. I cooked them in a hot oven on a baking sheet for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I was not sure about this but had just been to Farmers Market and had fresh garlic and a walla walla sweet onion, oh my gosh, so good! I was out of balsamic so used a balsmic reduction, cut the amount just over 1/2, even the kids ate it. Finger licking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Awesome! Made as directed except I used olive oil instead of canola. Served them on whole wheat buns with fresh roasted red peppers and a homemade cumin-ginger white bean spread. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States