Grilled Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Very good. Did not change a thing and marinated for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRADEE8U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
My husband grilled his pork chop, and I had my mushroom. Yum! He wanted his pork chop blackened, so I added the rub to both the pork chop and the portobello. I did marinate the mushroom over an hour. I left all the marinade, onions and garlic in the gills, and I'm glad I did. I loved the flavor of the balsamic with the heat of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
We made this tonight, using olive oil instead of canola and less balsamic vinegar after reading the reviews. I also added a bit of salt and pepper, but it was still just kind of bland, soggy and greasy (and that was after deciding to turn them and grill both sides -- I can't imagine how greasy they would be if you left it all pooled on top and didn't turn the way some reviewers said to do it). I think this would be better as part of a burger with a lot of toppings or something, but you might as well skip the large amount of oil since it just makes it greasy in a soggy way and quadruples the calories. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
As many others have said, I cut the balsamic vinegar by half to 2 tbsp. I also left out the onion from the marinade and changed the oil to extra virgin olive oil. Once marinated, I sliced and grilled the mushrooms. Be careful not to burn them. Then I used a Vidalia onion sliced VERY thin with 2 tbsp. of minced garlic...sautéed in olive oil till they cooked down a bit. After grilling the mushrooms I placed them in with the onion and garlic sauté for about 5 min. on low heat. WOW, really good used in a sandwich or wrap or over a bison burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Girlfriend liked it, but I thought the balsamic flavoring was far too overpowering. I won't make it for myself again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bahr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Add lemon juice some lemon juice, salt and pepper to the mix to tie it all together. Also if you leave the stems on it makes for easy transportation to and from the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Canola oil is very unhealthy. Also, need to reduce the amount of Balsamic vinegar. Will not use this recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is a great recipe - delicious mushrooms! I used 3T olive oil, 4 T balsamic and 2T soy sauce. Also, 1/2 tsp dried minced garlic, the minced onions, and cracked black pepper. They grilled gill side up with a little sharp cheese on top. I made a sandwich on a bun with avocado, lettuce, tomato and mayo. I Couldn't ask for anything better. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I agree with previous comments that 2 Tablespoons of vinegar is more than enough. With that said, it is an excellent marinade. I tried serving the whole mushroom as a burger on a bun, but the marinade made the bun hopelessly soggy. Next time I will slice the mushrooms and serve as a side dish, in a salad, or as a sandwich with carmelized onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States