Grilled Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
These are perfect! We marinate them for about 4 hours (easy marinade to fix up and it takes about 5 minutes...if that) and then cook them on the grill. The first time I tasted these I thought I would fall onfo the floor in convulsive seizures of culinary delight (ok that is too dramatic but I am trying to convey...these are REALLY good!). I don't eat meat and had not had a "burger" (I do not like the frozen veggie burgers very much) in a long time. I ate these on hamburger buns with some habanero mustard (I like things hot) and my eyes rolled back in my head (ok..more drama I know LOL). Tonight just made them for the 2nd time and they were every bit as good as the first time we made them. Try these! You will not be sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Love this! I mix balsamic vinegar with Italian Seasoning Dressing mix, then marinate them. Great flavor, goes well with salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
First time trying these babies and I have to say they were yummy! A bit too wet for a regular roll but then maybe I overdid the marinade. Hubby wouldn't touch them (says he won't eat mushrooms) but everyone else, including the teenage grandchildren loved them. Will definitely make again and experiment with different cheeses and other toppings. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I totally changed up this recipe! I used Olive Oil instead of canola and cut the oil in half! I also cut the balsamic vinegar down to about 1 TBS per recommendation of others!. I added 1TBS of Soy Sauce, 2TSP of Ume Plum Vinegar (adds tang and saltiness)added 1/2 cup lemonade and a half tsp of Worcestershire sauce. I also took the stems from the mushrooms and chopped them up and added them to the Onions. I did not add any salt or pepper! I grilled these for around 15 minutes to make sure that the onions cooked through. These were absolutely amazing! We had them for my grandma's 90th birthday and everyone ignored the lamb and went straight to the portobellas. Not a bite left on anyone's plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Incredible recipe, our family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Great flavor and simple. I use my cast iron grill pan indoors and it turns out great! This will make smoke indoors though so make sure you have good ventilation if you go that route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMIKINZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I had to do these in the oven and want to try them again on the grill like they are called for. Will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very easy to prepare, incredibly tasty and a hit with our vegetarian friends. Total prep time (including grill and marinating time) was about 1h 20m. We served this with tomato based gazpacho, cold rice/vegetable salad, grilled veggies and a zinfandel/syrah/merlot blend supplied by our guests. It was a very colorful, well received and satisfying meal. The one leftover was just as satisfying the next day! I'm not a vegetarian, but this will definitely be added to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
So yummy! We make this about once a month and we still love it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
YUMMY! The texture took a second to get used to because it tastes so much like a steak burger... I ate it on whole wheat with pepper Jack cheese, lettuce & tomato...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States