Grilled Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
far too much balsamic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Ok. I read the reviews. We love vinegar and I actually doubled the amount. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made no changes and it was a winner! I will be making this again! Easy and very flavorful, balsamic adds the punch. We all enjoyed it! Thank you! D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Good stuff! I love the way these big portabello caps mimic meat. I would agree with some of the other reviews that the recipe calls for a bit more balsamic vinegar than I think is needed, but then I was using a cheaper, more tart vinegar than is available. An aged, mellower version might be just right. Since, in addition to meat, mushroom caps mimic sponges, I wouldn't let them marinate much longer that an hour. Thanks, BFOLLICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this last night for dinner for the first time. Everyone enjoyed it. Definitely planning to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe, which we prepare a few times each summer. If you wonder whether to flip them over on the grill -- don't! You'll lose a lot of the flavors and it's not necessary. I generally double or triple the minced garlic, use olive oil rather than canola and allow the caps to marinade for a few hours. It's great for both vegetarians as well as carnivores, as it is quite meaty and tastes a lot like steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made these on my Cusinart Grill. I also grilled onions, green peppers, and mushrooms. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I'm always asked to prepare this dish. Even the plates are licked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this....I do my own twist on this though...I cut fresh pineapple into rings and put them on the grill as well. When portobello's are done I put the pineapple on top then put some raw cheddar or colby cheese on them and melt under broiler for a few minutes. I serve it with Organicville bbq sauce, roasted asparagus and sweet potato oven fries. EVERYONE I have ever made this for wants the recipe - it has been a huge hit even for major meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe has great potential. Here are the things I feel need consideration: how large are the mushrooms? Should the mushrooms be turned? Based on my experience, you must watch your mushrooms for donness and do not turn them. I substituted lemon juice but would have used white wine for vinegar (which I'm not supposed to consume) and I added thyme to the marinade. Ten minutes was much too long. They did not get mushy but too dark especially on the thin edges. I will do it again a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States